12 Warriors recognized by HOA

Heart of America league football coaches have released the 2016 all-league selections with 12 Marion Warriors represented.

Six Warriors received first-team recognition.

Senior Cade Harms was honored on both sides of the ball as a first-team offensive and defensive lineman.

Harms anchored a Warrior offense that averaged 7.4 yards per play, and a defense that gave up an average of 4.5 yards per play this season. He recorded 27 tackles.

Junior quarterback Jack Schneider was a first-team pick. Schneider rushed for 1,002 yards on 113 carries this season. He scored 19 rushing touchdowns and averaged 111 rushing yards per game. Through the air, Schneider was 29-for-65 for 583 yards and five touchdowns.

Senior running back Aaron Riggs was named to the first team. Marion’s leading rusher, Riggs recorded 1,036 yards on 175 carries. He scored seven rushing touchdowns and averaged 115.1 rushing yards per game.

Senior wide receiver Mason Pedersen was a first-team selection. Marion’s leading receiver, Pedersen hauled in 15 receptions for 393 yards and four touchdowns. He averaged 43.7 yards per game.

Junior defensive back Corbin Wheeler was a first-team pick. He recorded 90 tackles, including two tackles for a loss.

Junior Tyler Palic received first-team honors at linebacker and second-team recognition on the offensive line. Palic led the Warrior defense with 134 tackles, including six tackles for a loss. He had one interception.

Senior Peyton Heidebrecht received second-team honors at linebacker. He recorded 90 tackles, including four tackles for a loss. He had one interception and two fumble recoveries.

Junior Garrett Hoffner was named to the second team as a punter. He punted the ball 22 times for 718 yards. He averaged 32.6 yards per punt, with a long of 56 yards. He had four punts inside the 20.

Junior Jarret McLinden received honorable mention on the offensive line.

Senior Nathan Baldwin received honorable mention on the defensive line. He tallied 34 tackles, including two tackles for a loss. He had one fumble recovery.

Senior Bryce Shults was an honorable mention pick at defensive back. He had 47 tackles, including one tackle for a loss. He recorded one interception and one fumble recovery.

Junior Austin Neufeld received honorable mention recognition as a kicker.

The Warriors ended the season with a 7-2 record.

2016 HOA All-League

First team

Quarterback: Jack Schneider, jr., Marion.

Running backs: Aaron Riggs, sr., Marion; Joel White, sr., Sterling; Colton Smith, so., Sedgwick; JJ Allen*, jr., Bennington.

Wide receivers: Mason Pedersen, sr., Marion; Brayden Francis, jr., Sedgwick.

Kick return: Joel White, sr., Sterling.

Offensive line: Cade Harms, sr., Marion; Marshall Rutschman, sr., Sedgwick; Brandon Frederick, sr., Sterling; Daniel Morales, sr., Hutchinson Trinity; Eli Miller, jr., Sterling.

Tight end: Lucas Barlow, sr., Inman.

Defensive line: Ethan DeWitt, sr., Inman; Cade Harms, sr., Marion; Daniel Morales, sr., Hutchinson Trinity; Avery Bradley, jr., Ell-Saline; Eli Miller, jr., Sterling.

Linebackers: Marshall Rutschman, sr., Sedgwick; Brandon Frederick, sr., Sterling; Greg Bird, sr., Hutchinson Trinity; Tyler Palic, jr., Marion.

Defensive backs: Cody Clancy, sr., Ell-Saline; Ben Pankratz, sr., Inman; Corbin Wheeler, jr., Marion.

Punter: Anthony Otte, sr., Moundridge.

Kicker: Taiten Winkel, jr., Inman.

Second team

Quarterback: Kenan Comley, jr., Sterling.

Running backs: Jake Funk, sr., Ell-Saline; Dylan Sugars, sr., Moundridge; Greg Bird, sr., Hutchinson Trinity.

Wide receivers: Ethan DeWitt, sr., Inman; Kyler Comley, sr., Sterling; Avery Kidd*, sr., Bennington.

Kick return: Brayden Francis, jr., Sedgwick.

Offensive line: Caleb Frye, sr., Moundridge; Javier Mijares, sr., Hutch­in­­son Trinity; Avery Bradley, jr., Ell-Saline; Tyler Palic, jr., Marion; Walker Burkholder, jr., Sedgwick; Kade Carl­son*, sr., Bennington.

Tight end: Cody Clinton, sr., Sedg­wick.

Defensive line: Gabe Vanek, sr., Sedgwick; Javier Mijares, sr., Hutchin­son Trinity; Noah Eichelberger, jr., Moundridge; Grant Janzen, jr., Reming­ton; Johnny Longbine, jr., Sedgwick.

Linebackers: Kane Thimmesch, sr., Inman; Peyton Heidebrecht, sr., Marion; Jerod Kaufman, jr., Moundridge; Hans Anderson, jr., Sterling.

Defensive backs: Parker Lange, sr., Moundridge; Damian Calderon, jr., Moundridge; Neal Bever, jr., Sedgwick.

Punter: Garrett Hoffner, jr., Marion.

Kicker: Brayden Francis, jr., Sedgwick.

Honorable Mention

Quarterback: None.

Running backs: Todd Ensz, sr., Rem­ington; Garet Johnson, sr., Remington; Adam Stattler, sr., Hutchinson Trinity.

Wide receivers: Parker Lange, sr., Moundridge; Jarrett Sommers, sr., Remington; Angel Martinez, sr., Hutchinson Trinity; Noah Eichelberger, jr., Moundridge.

Kick return: Greg Bird, sr., Hutchin­son Trinity.

Offensive line: Jackson Buzzard, sr., Inman; Brandon Headlough, jr., Ell-Saline; Jarret McLinden, jr., Marion; Grant Janzen, jr., Remington.

Tight end: Cody Clancy, sr., Ell-Saline.

Defensive line: Nathan Baldwin, sr., Marion; Brandon Porter, sr., Mound­ridge; Luke Ratzlaff, jr., Moundridge.

Linebackers: Todd Ensz, sr., Remington; Riley Bogunovich, jr., Sedgwick.

Defensive backs: Joe Lucas, sr., Inman; Bryce Shults, sr., Marion; Mason Dyck, jr., Moundridge; Lucas Briar, jr., Sterling.

Punter: Taiten Winkel, jr., Inman; Blake Richter, jr., Sterling.

Kicker: Austin Neufeld, jr., Marion.

(* 8-man)

Tags from the story
, ,
Written By
More from Janae Rempel
TC women?s basketball starts season 1-2
The ninth-ranked Tabor College women?s basketball team is off to a 1-2...
Read More