Warriors, Eagles earn all-HOA recognition

Heart of America league coaches have released the 2014 all-league volleyball honors, with athletes from Marion and Canton-Galva represented.

Two members of Marion?s 28-9 volleyball team received recognition.

Junior Kirsten Hansen was named to the all-league team.

?Kirsten is an amazing volleyball player and athlete in general,? Marion coach Brady Hudson said. ?She has so much passion for the sport of volleyball, and it is very evident when you see her playing on the court. She has such great intuition when playing and knows how to play smart volleyball.?

Senior Julia Hall received honorable mention.

?Julia was the absolute leader of the team this year,??Hudson said. ?She too is a great volleyball player with awesome insight. She has such a passion for the sport, and I look forward to hearing about her success in college ball if she chooses to head that direction after school.?

For Canton-Galva, who went 6-25 this season, junior Zoe Unruh received honorable mention.

?Zoe is the glue that keeps our team together,? Canton-Galva coach Jenny Loyd said. ?She is a great teammate and emulates our team motto: ?Play hard, play together and never give up.??

The 5-foot, 9-inch setter/hitter led the league with a serving percentage of 98. She also led the team with 26 ace serves.

Unruh had 334 assists this season, and turned in a kill percentage of .248.

?Zoe is our most consistent player and played in all six rotations,? Loyd said. ?She served as team captain for the season and led both on and off the court. She is definitely our No. 1 encourager and communicator on the court.?

2014 HOA All-League

All-league team

Alleigh Weems, sr., Ell-Saline; Kirsten Hansen, jr., Marion; Anna Stucky, sr., Moundridge; Michelle Schrag, sr., Moundridge; Jasmine Ingalsbe, jr., Remington; Kristyn Wedel, sr., Remington; Kelcey Hinz, so., Remington; Audrey Bebermeyer, sr., Sedgwick; Riley McGinn, sr., Sedgwick; Konner Brening, sr., Hutchinson Trinity; Brooke Racette, sr., Hutchinson Trinity; Rhiannon Vieyra, jr., Hutchinson Trinity.

Honorable Mention

Jenna Gantenbein, sr., Bennington; Mikayla Reed, sr., Bennington; Ally Vogt, sr., Berean Academy; Lizzy Landis, so., Berean Academy; Zoe Unruh, jr., Canton-Galva; Darby Wikoff, sr., Ell-Saline; Naomi Williams, jr., Inman; Jaylyn Froese, fr., Inman; Jewel Croley, jr., Inman; Julia Hall, sr., Marion; Elizabeth Ratzlaff, sr., Moundridge; Alexis Charles, sr., Sedgwick; Serenity Storey, jr., Sedgwick; Kayla Mesh, sr., Hutchinson Trinity; Mariah Hammersmith, jr., Hutchinson Trinity; Katie Dyer, jr., Hutchinson Trinity.

Written By
More from Janae Rempel
Goessel wins four medals
Goessel’s state qualifiers earned four medals in Class 1A competition at the...
Read More