Wheat State names all-league players

Centre, Goessel and Peabody-Burns are all represented on the 2014 all-Wheat State League boys? and girls? basketball teams.

For the boys, one athlete from each school earned first-team honors: Centre senior Ty Simons, Goessel senior Ben Wiens and Peabody-Burns junior Braxton Kyle.

Simons averaged 24.7 points and 9.9 rebounds per game for the 12-9 Cougars.

Wiens, meanwhile, averaged 13.7 points and 5.6 rebounds per game for the Bluebirds, who finished with a record of 9-13 and made it to the sub-state championship game.

Kyle averaged 14.5 points and 5.8 rebounds per game for the Warriors. Peabody-Burns concluded the season at 6-15.

Junior Lawton Mako?vec of Goessel received honorable mention. He averaged 10.9 points.

Four members of the state-qualifying Centre girls? team and two Goes?sel athletes received recognition.

The Cougars placed two on the first team: senior Cacey Simons and junior Shelby Makovec. Simons averaged 12.6 points and 7.4 rebounds per game, while Makovec averaged 15.8 points and 3.2 rebounds for the 20-4 Cougars that went to the Class 1A-Division I state tournament.

Goessel sophomore Page Hiebert also was selected to the first team. She averaged 10.7 points and 6.5 rebounds per game for the 8-13 Bluebirds.

Centre seniors Makenzie Deines and Bryanna Svoboda and Goessel sophomore Alicen Meysing received honorable mention.

Deines averaged 8.2 points and 6.2 rebounds, while Svoboda averaged 4.5 points and 2.0 rebounds for the Cougars.

Meysing averaged 6.5 points and 5.6 rebounds for the Bluebirds.

2014 All-WSL Basket?ball


First team: Skylar Johnston, Little River, sr.; Shelby Makovec, Centre, jr.; Cacey Simons, Centre, sr.; Alexis Campuzano, Rural Vista, jr.; Page Hiebert, Goessel, so.; Jamie Meagher, Solomon, sr.; Anna Adamyk, Elyria, jr.; Emily Baldwin, Little River, sr.; Morgan Ash, Rural Vista, jr.; Rachel Adamyk, Elyria, so.

Honorable mention: Kasey Zeller, Little River, sr.; Makenzie Deines, Centre, sr.; Bryanna Svoboda, Centre, sr.; Autumn Adams, Wakefield, so.; Alicen Meysing, Goessel, so.


First team: Tevin Renken, Little River, sr.; Sam Morgan, Rural Vista, sr.; Ty Simons, Centre, sr.; Keenan Westerman, Wakefield, jr.; Blake Homman, Solomon, jr.; Braxton Kyle, Peabody-Burns, jr.; Jordan Rangel, Solomon, sr.; Ben Wiens, Goessel, sr.; Chord Zeller, Little River, jr.; Zack Konen, Little River, sr.

Honorable mention: Adam Adkins, Rural Vista, sr.; Lawton Makovec, Goessel, jr.; Trey Adams, Wakefield, jr.; Andrew Meagher, Solomon, so.; Dylan Murphy, Wakefield, so.

Written By
More from Janae Rempel
Tabor teams prepare for nationals
Both Tabor College basketball teams will participate in the 2014 NAIA Divi?sion...
Read More