Wheat State League honors announced

Wheat State League coaches have released all-league honors for the 2015-16 basketball season.

Marion County athletes were well-represented with 11 players from Centre, Goessel and Peabody-Burns receiving recognition.

For the 5-15 Centre girls, junior Shelby Pankratz was named to the first team. Senior Ally Basore received honorable mention. The Cougars concluded their season with a Class 1A, Division I sub-state quarterfinal loss to Clifton-Clyde.

The 6-14 Cougar boys are represented by first-team selection Dylan Deines, a junior. Sophomore Cole Srajer received honorable mention. Centre?s season came to a close with a sub-state quarterfinal loss to Clifton-Clyde.

Three first-team selections represent the 19-3 Goessel girls: seniors Page Hiebert and Aleena Cook and sophomore Eden Hiebert. Senior Alicen Meysing received honorable mention. Goessel?s season ended with a loss to Waverly in a Class 1A, Division I sub-state championship game.

Meanwhile, senior Zach Wiens was named to the first-team. The Goessel boys concluded their season with a 10-12 record after a sub-state loss to Lebo in the finals.

Senior Katy Benson represents the 2-19 Peabody-Burns girls as a first-team selection. The Warriors ended the season with a Class 1A, Division I sub-state quarterfinal loss to Melvern-Marais Des Cygnes Valley.

Junior Austin Reynolds represents the Warrior boys as an honorable mention selection. Peabody-Burns closed its 0-21 season with a sub-state quarterfinal loss to Waverly.

2016 All-WSL Basketball


First team: Rachel Adamyk, sr., Elyria Christian; Page Hiebert, sr., Goessel; Autumn Adams, sr., Wakefield; Aleena Cook, sr., Goessel; Brooke Homman, jr., Solomon; Shelby Pankratz, jr., Centre; Eden Hiebert, so., Goessel; Carly Rohleder, jr., Solomon; Haylee Weeks, jr., Rural Vista; Katy Benson, sr., Peabody-Burns.

Honorable mention: Melanie Renken, so., Little River; Moriah Redenbaugh, sr., Elyria Christian; Alicen Meysing, sr., Goessel; Ally Basore, sr., Centre; Gabi Nelms, so., Wakefield.

2016 All-WSL Basketball


First team: Andrew Meagher, sr., Solomon; Trey Laffery, sr., Wakefield; Clay Zeller, jr., Little River; Gabriel Coachman, sr., Rural Vista; Zach Wiens, sr., Goessel; Trace Hostetter, jr., Rural Vista; Tyler Thiessen, so., Elyria Christian; Hayden Bruner, sr., Wakefield; Jacob Tiernan, sr., Solomon; Dylan Deines, jr., Centre.

Honorable mention: Aidan Fields, fr., Elyria Christian; Cole Srajer, so., Centre; Austin Reynolds, jr., Peabody-Burns; Cade Stillwell, jr., Rural Vista; Kord Hilbert, sr., Solomon.

Tags from the story
Written By
More from Janae Rempel
Longworth pitches complete-game shutout in Tabor’s 8-0 win over Mayville State
Russell Longworth pitched a complete-game shutout to give the top-seeded Tabor College...
Read More