Wheat State football athletes feted

Wheat State League coaches have released the 2016 all-league football team, with athletes from Canton-Galva, Centre, Goessel and Peabody-Burns represented.

Two members of Canton-Galva’s 2-7 team received recognition. Senior Hunter Pearson was named to the first team. Junior Dylan Wood received honorable mention.

Two members of Centre’s 4-4 squad were recognized. Senior Dylan Deines was named to the first team. Sophomore Xavier Espinoza received honorable mention.

Four members of Goessel’s 5-4 team were honored. Seniors Josh Schmidt, Trevor Beisel and Kenny Hammond were named to the first team, while Miguel Guerrero received honorable mention.

Three members of Peabody-Burns’ playoff-qualifying, 5-5 team received recognition. Senior Austin Reynolds and junior Bailey Penner were named to the first team. Senior Jayton Scott received honorable mention.

2016 WSL All-League Football

First team

Hunter Pearson, sr., Canton-Galva; Dylan Deines, sr., Centre; Josh Schmidt, sr., Goessel; Trevor Beisel, sr., Goessel; Kenny Hammond, sr., Goessel; Tate Becker, sr. Herington; Jonathan Lollar, sr., Herington; Nate Backhus, sr., Herington; Richard Hagerman, sr., Herington; Clay Zeller, sr., Little River; Austin Reynolds, sr., Peabody-Burns; Bailey Penner, jr., Peabody-Burns; Trace Hostetter, sr., Rural Vista; Cade Stillwell, sr., Rural Vista; Drew Riedy, sr., Rural Vista; Braden Neilson, so., Solomon; Jacob Harmon, jr., Solomon; Andrew Capsay, jr., Solomon; Andrew Rothfuss, sr., Wakefield; Nathan Jackson, jr., Wakefield; Skylur Merritt, so., Wakefield; JaVon Richbow, so., Wakefield.

Honorable Mention

Dylan Wood, jr., Canton-Galva; Xavier Espinoza, so., Centre; Miguel Guerrero, sr., Goessel; Mitch Black, sr., Herington; Peyton Harvey, jr., Little River; Jayton Scott, sr., Peabody-Burns; Eli Fleming, jr., Rural Vista; Nathan Webb, sr., Solomon; Justin Carver, jr., Wakefield.

Written By
More from Janae Rempel
Tabor soccer combines for 3 losses, 1 tie
Matching up with Bethany and McPherson, the Tabor soccer teams earned a...
Read More