Two MHS players named to HOA first team in baseball

Five members of Marion’s state-qualifying baseball team have received all-league recognition from the coaches of the Heart of America League.

Two Warriors earned first-team honors: junior first baseman Taylor Heidebrecht and junior outfielder Grif Case.

Heidebrecht hit .481 this season, with a .517 on-base percentage. He finished with 37 hits, 24 RBIs and 25 runs scored. On the mound, he had an earned-run average of 4.57.

Case hit .441 for the season with an on-base percentage of .532. He had 26 hits, 21 RBIs and scored 34 runs. As a pitcher, he posted 2.62 ERA.

The Warriors had four second-team selections: senior pitchers Austin Pedersen and Ethan Hett, junior second baseman Zach Robson, and sophomore outfielder Bret Voth.

Pedersen recorded an ERA of 1.27, a .305 batting average and a .388 OBP. He had 18 hits, 17 RBIs and scored 14 runs.

Hett posted an ERA of 2.29 on the way to five wins. He recorded 44 strikeouts in 332⁄3 innings. At the plate, he hit .250.

Robson hit .386 with on-base percentage of ,478. He had 22 hits, nine RBIs and scored and 17 runs. Voth batted .356 with an on-base percentage of .388. He compiled 16 hits, 20 RBIs and scored 12 runs.

Junior shortstop Dylan Seacat earned honorable mention. He batted .368 and had a .506 on-base percentage. He contributed 25 hits, eight RBIs and 26 runs scored.

The Warriors finished with a 16-6 record under third-year coach Roger Schroeder and qualified for the Class 3A tournament for the second time in school history and the first time in 11 years.

2013 HOA All-League Baseball

First team

Pitcher: Treyton Devore, jr., Inman; Keegan Hays, sr., Ell-Saline; Logan Thompson, sr., Sedgwick.

Catcher: Greer Chandler, jr., Sedgwick,

First base: Taylor Heidebrecht, jr., Marion.

Second base: Drake Standefer, sr., Sedgwick.

Third base: Zach Fief, sr., Bennington.

Shortstop: Brylie Ware, so., Sedgwick.

Outfield: Grif Case, jr., Marion; Brock Lucas, sr., Inman; Toby Omli, sr., Ell-Saline.

Designated hitter: Lane Thornhill, sr., Bennington,

Utility player: Garrett Higgins, jr., Mound­ridge.

Second team

Pitcher: Chris Agee, sr., Sedgwick; Ethan Hett, sr., Marion; Austin Pedersen, sr., Marion.

Catcher: Layne Richert, sr., Inman.

First base: Trey Tucker, jr., Sedgwick.

Second base: Zach Robson, jr., Marion.

Third base: Cody Walters, so., Ell-Saline.

Shortstop: Derek Stanley, sr., Benning­ton.

Outfield: Dalyn Anderson, sr., Sedgwick; Garrett Jacobson, so., Ell-Saline; Bret Voth, so., Marion.

Designated hitter: Chase Stucky, sr., Moundridge.

Utility player: Dylan Nelson, sr., Ell-Saline.

Honorable mention

Nick Bray, so., Canton-Galva; Mason DeArvil, jr., Ell-Saline; Chanz McCune, jr., Sedgwick; Daniel Ratzlaff, sr., Moundridge; Wyatt Regehr, so., Inman; Dylan Seacat, jr., Marion; Cameron Stanley, sr., Bennington.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.