Trojans, Warriors feted with all-league honors

Four Hillsboro Trojans and three Marion Warriors have received all-league recognition from the basketball coaches of the Mid-Cen­­tral Activities Association.

For the girls, Hillsboro’s JuliAnne Chisholm was picked for the first team for the third consecutive year. Tina Frick was picked for the second team while Hannah Marsh received honorable mention.

All three are seniors.

Chisholm averaged 16.3 points, 5.5 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 2.3 assists for the Class 3A state champions.

Frick contributed 8.4 points and 5.0 rebounds per game and shot a team-best 54 percent from the field. Marsh averaged 5.5 points, 1.9 steals and 1.6 assists.

For the boys, Trojan senior Lucas Hamm was named to the first team while classmate Troy Frick received honorable mention.

Hamm averaged 14.5 points, 9.0 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 2.4 steals for the 11-11 Trojans. He registered a “double-double” in points and rebounds 10 times during the season.

Frick averaged 6.7 points and 3.1 rebounds.

For the 11-10 Marion boys, senior Jason Hett made first team, senior Travis Hett was picked for the second team and junior Justin Calvin received honorable mention.

Senior Erin Carr received honorable mention for the 2-19 Warrior girls.


2006 All-MCAA selections


First team: Rob Morris, so., Hesston; Isiah Barfield, sr. Haven; Lucas Hamm, sr. Hillsboro; Justin Holcom, sr. Smoky Valley; Cameron Horesky, jr., Hoisington; Jason Hett, sr., Marion; Chase Dippel, so., Smoky Valley; Austin Ratzlaff, sr., Halstead.

Second team: Michael Petrocci, jr., Hesston; Travis Hett, sr., Marion; David Lacey, sr., Sterling; Joseph Houlik, sr., Collegiate; Cole Fiegel, jr., Collegiate; .

Honorable mention: Colby Brown, jr., Sterling; Justin Calvin, sr., Halstead; Clint Cornejo, jr. Collegiate; Brett Detter, sr., Ellinwood; Troy Frick, sr., Hillsboro; Mitch Gentry, sr., Collegiate; Cory Hatchel, so., Haven; Michael Janzen, so., Hesston; Calvin Jeffrey, jr., Marion; Mace Krol, jr., Nickerson; Zac Stetler, sr., Hoisington; Miguel Viezcas, sr., Lyons; Lee Voth-Gaeddert, jr., Hesston.


First team: Sarah Plowman, jr., Ellinwood; Morgan Skomal, So., Haven; Lauren Raleigh, sr., Hesston; JuliAnne Chisholm, sr., Hillsboro; Kyra Horesky, sr., Hoisington; Rhys Pihl, jr., Smoky Valley; Holly Anderson, sr., Sterling.

Second team: Nicole Kratzer, sr., Lyons; Ashley Douglas, sr., Halstead; Julia Carlton, sr., Hesston; Tina Frick, sr., Hillsboro; Melissa Wilson, jr., Nickerson; Melissa Wilson, jr., Nickerson; Allison Harned, sr., Collegiate; Gena Camarena, sr., Collegiate.

Honorable mention: Becca Achilles, so., Haven; Kim Alexander, jr., Collegiate; Arielle Borecky, so., Nickerson; Erin Carr, sr., Marion; Jacey Cullop, jr., Sterling; Randi Dierksen, sr., Sterling; Grace Easter, jr., Hesston; Hayley Glynn, sr., Hoisington; Jenna Koch, jr., Smoky Valley; Damara Lewis, sr., Lyons; Hannah Marsh, sr., Hills­boro; Megan McCall, sr., Halstead; Jordan Nettleingham, jr. Hoisington; Shawna Robl, sr., Ellinwood; Krystal Smith, sr., Nickerson; Paula Stucky, so., Haven.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Births (April 11, 2018).
Theodore Williams Carl and Rebecca Williams of Cedar Point announce the birth...
Read More