Seven Trojans earn all-league honors

Seven athletes from the state-qualifying Hillsboro girls? and boys? basketball teams have received all-league recognition from Cen?tral Kansas League coaches.

The Trojan girls, who tied Sterling for second place in the league at 7-1 and were 18-6 overall, placed two players on the first team and one on the second team.

Seniors Addie Lackey and Danae Bina were named to the first team. This was the third time Lackey made the first team; she was a second-team pick as a freshman. Bina made the second team a year ago.

Lackey led the Trojans in scoring (20.1) on 48.8 percent shooting from the field (174-356), 40.7 from behind the arc (46-113) and 77.3 from the free-throw line (89-115). She tied for first in rebounds (131) and was second in assists (57). On defense, she snatched a team-high 70 steals.

Bina averaged 13.2 points per contest, shooting 41.8 percent from the floor, 28.7 from three and 70.3 from the line. The Trojan point guard grabbed 106 rebounds and 63 steals. She led the team with 58 assists.

Sophomore Alex Ratzlaff was named to the second team. She averaged 11.7 points on 52.5 shooting from the field. She averaged just under 5.5 rebounds (131) and recorded 40 assists and 63 steals.

Six players from Hesston (9-0, 25-1), the Class 3A champion, received recognition. Sterling (7-2, 19-3) and Lyons (6-3, 17-9), the 3A state runner-up, each had four players on the list.

The Hillsboro boys (7-2, 20-4) had four players receive all-league honors. Seniors Brett Weinbrenner and Christian Ratzlaff made the first team, while senior Evan Ollenburger and junior Micah Allen received honorable mention.

This was Weinbrenner?s third selection to the CKL first team after being named to the second team as a freshman. The Trojan point guard averaged 14.1 points on 40 percent shooting from the floor, and led the team in steals (37) and assists (77).

After missing all of last season with a knee issue, Ratzlaff led the Trojans in scoring (17.7), three-point shooting (64-152, 42.1 percent), rebounding (145) and was second in assists (64) and steals (35).

Ollenburger?s trademark aggressive defense resulted in 32 steals. On offense he averaged 4.8 points on 44.7 percent shooting, and added 40 assists.

Allen was third in scoring for Hillsboro with an average 7.7 points. He shot 46.1 percent from the field, added 26 assists, 75 rebounds and 35 steals.

Hesston, the undefeated Class 3A and league champion, placed four players on the list as well.

2014 All-CKL Basket?ball


First team: Caylee Richardson, Hesston, jr.; Brenna McClure, Lyons, jr.; Addie Lackey, Hillsboro, sr.; Hannah McBride, Smoky Valley, sr.; Kylah Com?ley, Sterling, so.; Danae Bina, Hillsboro, sr.; Jenson Maydew, Pratt, sr.

Second team: Cami Richardson, Hesston, jr.; Sada Smith, Kingman, jr.; Samantha Stallbaumer, Haven, jr.; Kel?sey Unruh, Hesston, jr.; Aubree Nuest, Sterling, sr.; Alex Ratzlaff, Hillsboro, so.; Andi Dowell, Sterling, jr.

Honorable mention: Madison Bangert, Kingman, sr.; Paige Stewart, Nickerson, sr.; Sydney Beat, Halstead, sr.; Aubrey Hollinger, Lyons, sr.; Alexis Lasater, Lyons, jr.; Rachel Minix, Lyons, jr.; Chelsey Riffel, Sterling, jr.; Cora Ezell, Haven, sr.; Hannah Schmidt, Hesston, sr.; Ali Jost, Hesston , sr.; Haylie Hook, Pratt, jr.; Michaela Theis, Kingman, jr.; Sydney Stephan, Haven, sr.


First team: Christian Ratzlaff, Hills?boro, sr.; Grant Raleigh , Hesston, jr.; Wyatt McKinney, Hesston, sr.; Brett Weinbrenner, Hillsboro, sr.; Anthony Santiago, Halstead, sr.; Ryan McClure, Lyons, sr.; Mitchell Packard, Kingman, sr.

Second team: Tim Hendrixson, Haven, jr.; Tyler McCartney, Hesston, jr.; Ryan Schadler, Hesston, sr.; Sam?son Kohman, Pratt , fr.; Cody New, Kingman, jr.; Isaac Ensz, Halstead, sr.; Grady Kirkhardt, Lyons, jr.

Honorable mention: Brandon Bradshaw, Kingman, sr.; Cole Norberg, Smoky Valley, sr.; Dalton Haight, Halstead, sr.; Joey Stockinger, Nickerson, sr.; Trey Bagby , Sterling, senior; Evan Ollenburger, Hillsboro, sr.; Ben Berridge , Nickerson, jr.; Jacob Newcomer, Haven, jr.; Alan Pina, Lyons, sr.; Micah Allen , Hillsboro, jr.; Braxton Bangert, Kingman, sr.; Alec Schneider, Smoky Valley, sr.

Written By
More from Don Ratzlaff
Tabor women in the hunt for KCAC champion
Picked as the preseason favorite to wear the KCAC crown this season,...
Read More