Nine Trojans chosen for 14 all-league spots

Nine players on the North Division champion Hills?boro football team received all-league recognition from the coaches of the Central Kansas League at a total of 14 positions.

The Trojans finished the season with a 10-1 record overall and were 4-0 in division play. They outscored their opponents by an average margin of 38-12.

Senior Shaq Thiessen was picked for the first team at three positions: receiver, defensive back and kick returner. Thiessen caught 38 passes for 869 yards and 11 touchdowns as a receiver, picked off 10 passes on defense and averaged near 12 yards per punt return and just over 36 yards per kickoff return.

Evan Ollenburger was a first-team pick at receiver and defensive back. The junior caught 36 passes for 392 yards and five touchdowns. On defense, he was credited with 58 total tackles and snagged two interceptions.

Nathan Unruh was a first-team pick on both the offensive and defensive line. On defense he was credited with 70 total tackles, two sacks and two fumble recoveries.

Joining Unruh on the first-team offensive line was senior Dylan Jirak.

Tyrell Thiessen made the first team as a running back and received honorable mention at linebacker. The senior rushed for 773 yards and 10 touchdowns on 162 carries, for an average 7.58 yards per attempt. He also caught 43 passes for 561 yards and six scores.

On defense, Thiessen was credited with 76 total tackles with four fumble recoveries and three caused fumbles.

In his first season as starter, Tyler Proffitt earned first-team honors at quarterback. The senior threw for a school record 2,332 yards and 25 touchdowns on 162-for-266 passing. On the ground, he ran for 572 yards and 12 touchdowns on 162 carries.

Tanner Jones was a first-team selection at linebacker. The senior led the Trojans with 101 total tackles, including three sacks.

Jesse Brown, a junior, made the first team as a kicker. He was successful on 31 of 36 extra-point attempts.

Senior Lucas Sinclair earned honorable mention at linebacker. He was credited with 96 total tackles, three interceptions and two caused fumbles.

Central Kansas League

2012 all-league football selections


First team offense

Line: Weston Loder, Smoky Valley; Nathan Unruh, Hillsboro; Dylan Jirak, Hills?boro; Jerry Black, Halstead; Jed Dierkson, Sterling.

Running backs: Curtis Carlson, Smoky Valley; Tyrell Thiessen, Hillsboro; Jonah McKee, Halstead.

Quarterback: Tyler Proffitt, Hillsboro.

Receivers: Holden Hendricks, Smoky Valley; Shaq Thiessen, Hillsboro; Evan Ollen?burger, Hillsboro.

Honorable mention offense

Line: Cody Hopkins, Smoky Valley; David Loucks, Halstead; Hunter Hewitt, Sterling.

Running backs: Cory Armendriaz, Halstead; Alex Thibault, Halstead.

Quarterback: Ethan Loder, Smoky Valley; Riley Gaylon, Sterling.

Receivers: Luis Rascon, Lyons; Grady Kirkhart, Lyons.

First team defense

Line: Mark Klassen, Smoky Valley; Nathan Unruh, Hillsboro; Timothy Glassco, Halstead; Jed Dierkson, Sterling.

Linebackers: Spencer Bird, Smoky Valley; Tanner Jones, Hillsboro; Austin Maxwell, Sterling; Adrian Lange, Lyons.

Backs: Kyle Ryan, Smoky Valley; Evan Ollenburger, Hillsboro; Shaq Thiessen, Hillsboro; Riley Gaylon, Sterling.

Kicker: Jesse Brown, Hillsboro.

Punter: Austin Maxwell, Sterling.

Returner: Shaq Thiessen, Hillsboro.

Honorable mention defense

Line: Tanner Stallings, Sterling; Daniel Cline, Lyons.

Linebackers: Tyrell Thiessen, Hillsboro; Lucas Sinclair, Hillsboro; Joseph Meyers, Halstead; Blake Beckett, Halstead.

Backs: Mason Weiss, Smoky Valley; Eljah McKee, Halstead; Ryan McClure, Lyons; Lucas Padilla, Lyons.


First team offense

Line: Cade Hawver, Nickerson; Jarod Gilmore, Pratt; Taylor White, Pratt; Austin Eikleberry, Haven; Bryan Medina, Hesston.

Running backs: Ryan Shadler, Hesston; Sean Rodriguez, Nickerson; Trea Regier, Haven.

Quarterback: Skyler Dean, Pratt.

Receivers: Chance Gehrer, Hesston; Tyler Owens, Nickerson; Shawn Ramos, Pratt.

Honorable mention offense

Line: Nate Hiatt, Nickerson; Hagan Kauf?man, Nickerson; Brett Forshee, Pratt; Justin Weve, Haven; Ryan Ybarra, Kingman; Nathan Wilson, Kingman; Austin Taylor, Kingman.

Running backs: Braxton Bangert, Kingman; Zach Anderson, Kingman; Isaac Warman, Nickerson; Anthony Cannata, Pratt; Austin Fritzemeier, Haven.

Quarterback: Wyatt McKinney, Hesston.

Receivers: Jalen Karber, Nickerson; Jake Steverson, Nickerson.

First team defense

Line: Austin Massey, Kingman; Austin Gates, Pratt; Bryan Medina, Hesston; Isaac Ensz, Haven.

Linebackers: Ryan Boroughs, Kingman; Tyler Owen, Nickerson; Jarod Gilmore, Pratt; Zach Hendrixson, Haven.

Backs: Nick Meng, Kingman; Ryan Shadler, Hesston; Skylar Dean, Pratt; Sean Rodriguez, Nickerson.

Kicker: Drew Trollope, Kingman.

Punter: Robbie Eggleston, Pratt.

Return: Trea Regier, Haven.

Honorable mention defense

Line: Chance Gehrer, Hesston; Shawn Davis, Hesston; Austin Godsberry, Nickerson; Robbie Eggleston, Pratt; Remington Fry, Nickerson.

Linebackers: John Birch, Hesston; Merek Barber, Hesston.

Backs: Jalen Karber, Nickerson; Isaac Warman, Nickerson; Mitchell Baird, Pratt; Cody Crabtree, Haven.

Kicker: Tim Hendrixson, Haven.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
4-Hers and open exhibitors give their best effort
4-H BEEF Showmanship Grand champion: Bryce Roberts (SC). Reserve grand champion: Lisa...
Read More