Nine Marion players receive Heart of America all-league recognition

Nine Marion football players received Heart of America All-League honors for their contributions this past season, including five First Team recipients.

Offensive lineman Morgan Wheeler was named to the HOA First Team offense.

Players receiving First Team defense honors included defensive lineman Jon Nordquist, senior linebacker Spencer Fugitt, defensive back James Jones and kicker Grif Case.

Second Team offense nominees included quarterback Taylor Heidebrecht, senior wide receiver Jacob Harper and senior running back Brody Carroll, who also received Second Team defense honors as a returner.

Senior offensive lineman Isaac Baldwin received Honorable Mention recognition, as did defensive lineman Trevor Unruh from area school Canton-Galva.

Other First Team recipients included: Zach Fief (senior QB/DB, Bennington), Toby Omli (senior RB, Ell-Saline), Josh Miller (senior RB, Inman), Dalton Brandt (RB/LB, Sedgwick), Logan Thompson (WR/LB, Sedgwick), Kaleb Whitehair (senior WR, Ell-Saline), Heath Thornhill (TE, Bennington), Ross Armstrong (senior TE, Ell-Saline), Alex Ropp (senior OL, Inman), Will Johnson (senior OL, Remington), Ivan Wood (senior OL/DL, Sedgwick), Trey Tucker (OL, Sedgwick), Zac Klaers (senior OL, Trinity), Hunter Brooks (senior DL, Ell-Saline), Christian Teufel?(DL, Sedgwick), Jerome Miller (DL, Trinity), Justin Schmutz (LB, Ell-Saline), Lucas Bass (senior DB, Ell-Saline), Tyler Cottam (DB/R, Inman), Drake Standefer (senior DB, Sedgwick) and Jared Winter (senior P, Ell-Saline).

Additional Second Team honorees were: Garrett Walker (senior QB, Ell-Saline), Kyle Regier (senior RB/LB, Remington), Nathan Eisenbarth (senior RB, Trinity), Elias Jasso-Cardenas (RB, Trinity), Kyle Huxman (TE, Mound­ridge), Logan Stegman (OL, Bennington), Brooks (senior OL, Ell-Saline), Evan Morrical (OL/DL, Ell-Saline), Wade Moore (OL, Inman), Josh Hermes (OL, Trinity), Jerome Miller (OL, Trinity), Jacob Arnold (senior DL, Benning­ton), Armstrong (senior DL, Ell-Saline), Ropp (senior DL, Inman), Garrett Higgins (DL, Moundridge), Johnson (senior DL, Remington), Terry Longbine (DL, Sedgwick), Jake Stewart (senior LB, Benning­ton), Cody Seiler (senior LB, Inman), Matt Castor (LB, Moundridge), Joey Hale (LB, Trinity), Whitehair (senior DB, Ell-Saline), Dalyn Anderson (senior DB/P, Sedgwick) and Spencer Truman (K, Trinity).

Other players receiving Honorable Mention recognition were: B.J. Glanton (RB, Bennington), Jon Corn?(senior OL, Inman), Dalton Rodriguez (senior DL, Trinity), Omli (senior LB, Ell-Saline), Daniel Ratzlaff (senior LB, Moundridge), Eli Igo (LB, Remington) and Chandler Greer (LB, Sedgwick).

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.