MCAA names six Trojans, 4 Warriors

Six Hillsboro Trojans and four Marion Warriors received all-league basketball recognition by the coaches of the Mid-Central Activities Association.

For the boys, Hillsboro?s Daniel Jost and David Loewen made the first team while Clay Shewey received honorable mention. All are seniors.

Jost, a unanimous selection, averaged 14.1 points and 3.7 assists per game. Loewen, a repeat pick for the first-team, averaged 13.5 points and 11.2 rebounds for the 14-8 Trojans. Shewey averaged 11.2 points.

For Marion, which finished 5-16, Elliott Hett received honorable mention.

For the girls, Hillsboro junior Dakota Kaufman was a unanimous pick for the first team, junior Candace Weinbrenner was named to the second team and sophomore Allie Faul received honorable mention. They led the Trojans to a 14-10 season record and a state-tournament berth.

For the 12-9 Warriors, three juniors received recognition. Julia Zeiner made the first team while Lindsay Hett and Kaylee Heerey made the second team.

2009 All-MCAA Basketball

Boys (*Unanimous)

First team: *Devin Callon, Haven; *Chase Dippel, Smoky Valley; *Blake Jablonski, Wichita Collegiate; Michael Janzen, Hesston; *Daniel Jost, Hillsboro; David Loewen, Hills?boro; Robb Moore, Hesston; *Alex Roth, Hesston.

Second team: Justin Axman, Hoisington; Andrew Hourani, Wichita Collegiate; Gideon Massey, Wichita Collegiate; Jared Regehr, Halstead; Troy Smith, Nickerson; Ryan Ward, Ellinwood.

Honorable mention: Tyler Armendariz, Halstead; Tre Bailey, Wichita Collegiate; Matt Bennett, Sterling; Brett Bieberle, Lyons; Alex Birney, Elliwnood; Ridge Foster, Haven; Taylor Glassco, Halstead; Payton Griffith, Lyons; Cory Hatchel, Haven; Elliot Hett, Marion; Zach Higgins, Hoisington; Michael McGuire, Wichita Collegaite; Taylor Nebel, Hesston; Clay Shewey, Hillsboro; Braden Thompson, Nickerson; Glenn Whitaker, Ellinwood.

Girls (*Unanimous)

First team: *Ashia Woods, Wichita Collegiate; *Morgan Skomal, Haven; *Dakota Kaufman, Hillsboro; Paula Stucky, Haven; *Kelci Frey, Hesston; *Kamri Phox, Wichita Collegiate; Julia Zeiner, Marion.

Second team: Becca Achilles, Haven; Lindsay Hett, Marion; Shelby Mordford, Nickerson; Marissa Vermillion, Halstead; Candace Weinbrenner, Hillsboro; Deandra Kaiser, Hoisington; Kayley Heerey, Marion.

Honorable mention: Abby Maurer, Wichita Collegiate; Alexi Bohling, Halstead; Anna Nusser, Lyons; Arielle Borecky, Nick?erson; Brea Short, Hesston; Jesi Ball, Sterling; Jordan Sherwood, Smoky Valley; Lauren Thill, Ellinwood; Rebecca Denny, Halstead; Tavia Raney, Hesston; Becca Maier, Hoisington; Allie Faul, Hillsboro; Brandi Mader, Nickerson; Laurie Dauer, Smoky Valley; Mariah Green, Wichita Collegiate; Heather Davis, Sterling.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Bluejay men edged in home opener
After losses to Newman University in an exhibition game, York College in...
Read More