MCAA fetes 5 Trojans, 9 Warriors

Five members of Hillsboro High?s bi-district champion football team have received all-league recognition from the coaches of the Mid-Central Activities Associa?tion?s Central Division.

Nine Marion Warriors were recognized by the coaches of the MCAA?s Mid Division.

For Hillsboro (6-5), who finished fifth (1-4) in the six-team large-school Central Division, four players filled six first-team positions.

Senior Jacob Yoder was a unanimous pick at two spots: offensive back and punter.

Spencer Brown was a unanimous pick at defensive back and a first-team pick at quarterback. The senior also received honorable mention as a kick returner.

Daniel Jost, junior wide receiver, was Hillsboro?s other unanimous pick. He also received honorable mention as a defensive back.

Junior John Hein was a first-team selection at offensive line and senior Michael Scheele received honorable mention at that position.

Five Warriors (4-5, 3-2) were named to the Mid Division first team.

On offense, senior Austin Hager was a unanimous pick at offensive back, junior Mitchell Leppke was picked as the best quarterback in the division, and senior Hank Collett was picked for the offensive line.

Brett Billings, a senior, received honorable mention as a lineman.

On defense, Chase Carlson, a senior, was a first-team choice in the secondary and senior Brad Klenda was selected as a lineman.

Sophomore Nick Klenda received honorable mention in the secondary, and juniors Derek Riggs and Mark Kukuk for their play on defensive line.

Hager also received honorable mention as a punter.

MCAA Central Division


Offensive back: *Michael Petrocci, sr., Hesston; *Jacob Yoder, sr., Hillsboro; Eric Hawk, sr., Smoky Valley. (Honorable mention: Clay McConnell, sr., Nickerson; Jack Trussell, sr., Nickerson; Weston Cottrell, so., Nickerson; Andrew Hourani, jr., Collegiate; Rob Moore, jr., Hesston.)

Quarterback: Spencer Brown, sr., Hillsboro; Clint Cornejo, sr., Collegiate. (Honorable mention: Michael Janzen, jr., Hesston.)

Receiver: *Daniel Jost, jr., Hillsboro; *Ridge Jones, sr., Smoky Valley; Lee Voth-Gaeddert, sr., Hesston. (Honorable mention: Bryce Cornejo, so., Collegiate; Craig Howell, jr., Collegiate; Jordan Drake, jr., Haven.)

Offensive line: John Hein, jr., Hillsboro; *Jamie Wollenburg, sr., Hesston; *Jordan Misunas, sr., Nickerson; *Josh Dauer, sr., Smoky Valley; *Ronnie Elkouri, sr., Collegiate. (Honorable mention: Joey Schmidt, jr., Hesston; Riley Spencer, jr., Hesston; Cory Hatchel, jr. Haven; Sharpe Garrett, sr., Smoky Valley; Michael Scheele, sr., Hillsboro.)

Kicker: Lee Voth-Gaeddert, sr., Hesston. (Honorable mention: Brandon Engelland, sr., Nickerson.)

Returner: *John Reimer, sr., Hesston. (Honorable mention: Spencer Brown, sr., Hillsboro.)

Defensive back: *Spencer Brown, sr., Hills?boro; Mace Krol, sr., Nickerson; DeWitt John, sr., Smoky Valley; Austin Bakri, sr., Collegiate. (Honorable mention: Byron Nienstedt, jr., Haven; Jordan Simon, jr., Haven; John Reimer, sr., Hesston; Daniel Jost, jr., Hillsboro; Ridge Jones, sr., Smoky Valley; Braden Krinhop, sr., Smoky Valley.)

Linebacker: Brett Leichty, sr., Hesston; Joey Schmidt, jr., Hesston; Chris Brito, sr., Collegiate; Adam Lackey, sr., Smoky Valley. (Honorable mention: Garrett Black, sr., Haven; Lee Voth-Gaeddert, sr., Hesston; Derek Odell, sr., Smoky Valley.)

Defensive line: *Jamie Wollenberg, sr., Hesston; Jake Wray, sr., Hesston; Jack Trussell, sr., Nickerson; Cody Foster, sr., Smoky Valley. (Honorable mention: Sean Dick, jr., Haven; Jordan Misunas, sr., Nickerson; Alex Schooler, jr., Collegiate; Steve Sparber, sr., Collegiate.)

Punter: *Jacob Yoder, sr., Hillsboro. (Honorable mention: Lee Voth-Gaeddert, sr., Hesston.)

MCAA Mid Division


Offensive back: *Cameron Horesky, sr., Hoisington; *Austin Hager, sr., Marion; *Joel Stromberg, sr., Sterling. (Honorable mention: Adam Sullivan, sr., Hoisington; Roman Davidson, so., Sterling.)

Quarterback: Mitchell Leppke, jr., Marion. (Honorable mention: Tyler Ratzlaff, jr., Halstead; Cody Riggs, jr., Sterling.)

Receiver: *Luke McKee, jr., Halstead; *Luke Keener, jr., Hoisington, Steven Fankhauser, sr., Sterling. (Honorable mention: Ethan Linden, so., Ellinwood; Casey Dwyer, sr., Lyons.)

Offensive line: *Tegan Nusser, sr., Lyons; *Matt Engstrom, sr., Hoisington; *Gabe Dierksen, jr., Sterling; Henry Collett, sr., Marion; Korye Garnett, sr., Halstead. (Jacob Owen, so., Hoisington; John Durrett, sr., Hoisington; Nick Meyer, jr., Lyons; Brett Billings, sr., Marion; Chris Schwartz, jr., Ellinwood.)

Kicker: *Jake Craig, so., Lyons. (Honorable mention: Kholby Munoz, sr., Sterling.)

Returner: *Cameron Horesky, sr., Hoising?ton. (Honorable mention: Steven Fankhauser, sr., Sterling.)

Defensive back: *Luke McKee, jr., Halstead; Cameron Horesky, sr., Hoisington; Dylan Demel, sr., Hoisington; Chase Carlson, sr., Marion. (Honorable mention: Lee Goetz, sr., Hoisington; Dane Kepka, sr., Lyons; Nick Klenda, so., Marion; Steven Fankhauser, sr., Sterling.)

Linebacker: *Carl Hickel, jr., Hoisington; *Jake Durham, jr., Sterling; Luke Knight, sr., Lyons; Brad Klenda, jr., Marion. (Honorable mention: Adam Demel, sr., Hoisington; John Durrett, sr., Hoisington; Nick Minix, so., Lyons; Joey Stromberg, sr., Sterling; Roman David?son, so., Sterling; Sheldon Meitler, jr., Halstead.)

Defensive line: *Korye Garnett, jr., Halstead; Luke Keener, jr., Hoisington; Matt Engstrom, sr., Hoisington; Skyler Maxwell, sr., Sterling. (Honorable mention: Corey Detter, so., Ellinwood; Neil Ochs, sr., Hoisington; Tegan Nusser, sr., Lyons; Zach McKinnis, sr., Lyons; Derek Riggs, jr., Marion; Mark Kukuk. jr., Marion; Gabe Dierksen, jr., Sterling.)

Punter: Steven Fankhauser, sr., Sterling. (Honor?able mention: Adam Demel, sr., Hoisington; Austin Hager, sr., Marion; Tyler Armendariz, jr., Halstead.)

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Now’s the time to find your best tax situation
With the new year straight ahead, there’s no better time for farmers...
Read More