KABC coaches name Hillsboro?s Loewen to Class 3A hoops second team

Hillsboro sophomore Tena Loewen received second-team recognition on the Kansas Basketball Coaches Associa?tion?s Class 3A all-state team, announced last week.

Loewen averaged 10.8 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 2.5 steals per game for the 21-5 Trojan team that placed third at the state tournament.

Named to the first team were Ashia Woods of Wichita Collegi?ate, Rachel Jacobs of Thomas More Prep, and Heidi Brown of Southwestern Heights.

Jor?dan Kramer of Jefferson County North and Kelly Thom?son of Riley County were also named to the first team.

Joining Loewen on the second team were Carly Spicer of Osage City and Taylyn Schwartz of Eureka. Jessica Downhard of Marysville and Marissa Cox of Central Heights were also named to the second team.

Receiving honorable mention were Breanna Gottschalk of Holcomb, Tamera Stallbaumer of Sabetha, Kaitlyn Rogers of Fredonia, and Tara Ellerman of Effingham.

Liz Herrs of Rock Creek, Quin Tillotson of Rem?ing?ton, Bailey Brown of Beloit, Jode Herl of Goodland, Megan Honas of Medicine Lodge and Madison Stewart of Burlington also received honorable mention.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Anniversaries (Week of June 17, 2009)
Family to celebate 50th anniversary   Don and Joyce (Stowell) Weinbrenner will...
Read More