HHS boys run to 11th place in Wichita

Once again trading the advantages of a Saturday morning meet early in the season for the challenge of battling big-school competition, the Hillsboro cross-country teams competed at the Wichita Southeast Invitational this weekend.

The boys? team, compiling 258 points, placed 11th among the 12 schools that competed for a team title. Campus won with 35 points.

Leading the way for HHS was Nathan Vogel, who covered the 3.1-mile course in 18 minutes, 29 seconds and finished 35th among the 87 runners who finished.

Brayden Barrientez of Campus won the race in 16:23.

Following Vogel for the Trojans were Nicholas Mueller (40th, 18:44), Brandon McMillen (55th, 19:03), David Ratzloff (64th, 19:17), Jonathan King (69th, 19:24), Robbie McClelland (73rd, 19:36) and Matthew Klenda (84th, 20:54).

Ratzloff and King set personal-best marks.

?We have some varsity guys that have been ill at some point during the past week, which may have affected their times,? said coach Stuart Holmes.

?They?ll bounce back next week and help the team be more competitive.

The Trojans entered two runners in the girls? varsity race. Heidi Schroeder finished the 2.5-mile course in 18:15, placing 46th among 75 finishers. Jessica Elliott crossed in 19:39, placing 70th.

Danielle Walker of Maize won the race in 15:00.

In the junior varsity race for boys, Bret Mueller placed 13th among 150 runners in 19:39. He was followed by Cody Blackketter (29th, 19:51) and Scott Brandt (145th, 26:55).

In the girls? JV race, Brenna Blackketter placed 21st among 96 runners in 18:29, followed by Taylor Nickel (64th, 20:51).

Coming?The Trojans were scheduled to compete Tuesday, Sept. 23, at the Southeast of Saline Invitational, then will get a nine-day break until they race at the Berean Invitational on Thursday, Oct. 2, at Harvey County East Park.

The Trojans? race at Wamego, schedule for Sept. 13, was cancelled because of heavy rains.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
193 students recognized on Tabor dean’s list
Tabor College has released the 2017 spring semester dean’s list, which includes...
Read More