Four runners all-league honors at CKL meet



Four Hillsboro runners earned all-league honors at the Central Kansas League cross-country meet Thursday at Lindsborg.

Sophomore Emily Sechrist ran away with her first league title with a time of 16 minutes, 53 seconds over the 4-kilometer course. Her closest competitor was Kaylah Romine of Pratt, who crossed the line 17 seconds later.

Karen Leihy placed eighth to earn all-league honors with a time of 17:41.

Josh Richert was the runner-up in the boys? race, finishing the 5-k course in 18:17?some 41 seconds behind Drew Hageman of Hesston. Also earning all-league was Avery Frantz, who placed 14th in 19:33.

He was followed by Jordan Bezdek (21st, 20:32) and Daniel Gray (42nd, 23:38).

Neither the boys nor girls had enough runners to compete as a team. Haven took first among the girls, while Hesston won the boys? title.

?Smoky Valley?s course is fairly hilly and not as fast as the last two meets have been, so today we weren?t concerned with time, but just with place,? coach Stuart Holmes said.

?Everyone?s effort was there and people ran well, but the course made the times slower.?

In the girls? junior varsity race, Erin Wiebe placed third in 21:56, Mary Leihy fourth in 22:09 and Morganne Hamm sixth in 23:35.

In the middle school races, Michael Higby placed third in the seventh-grade mile (6:07) and Jonathan Hinerman was fourth in the eighth-grade 2-mile (12:19).

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Tabor football vs. St. Mary 1:30 p.m.
Read More