Eight Trojans earn all-league status

The Hillsboro girls? and boys? basketball teams combined for eight athletes receiving all-league recognition from the Cen?tral Kansas League coaches.

The league co-champion girls (8-1, 23-3), who went on to place third in the Class 3A tournament, placed two players on the first team, one on the second team and had one receive honorable mention.

Picked unanimously for the first team were senior Tena Loewen, who averaged 13.4 points and four rebounds per game, and junior Addie Lackey, who led the team in scoring at 14.2 points and assists with 2.8 per contest.

Named to the second team was junior point guard Danae Bina, who averaged 11.2 points, 3.8 rebounds and a team-high 2.9 steals per game.

Receiving honorable mention was senior guard Maci Schle?huber, who averaged 6.6 points, 2.3 rebounds and 1.6 assists.

For the boys, Brett Weinbren?ner was part of a seven-member all-unanimous first team. The junior point guard averaged 14 points, three assists and 1.8 steals per game for the second-place Trojans (6-3, 13-9).

Named to the second team was senior Shaq Thiessen, who led the team in scoring at 14.7 points per game and averaged 4.5 rebounds and 2.3 steals.

Receiving honorable mention from Hillsboro were seniors Harry Faber, who averaged 6.5 points, 3.8 rebounds and 1.2 steals, and Josh Wiebe, who averaged just under seven points per game and 4.7 rebounds.


2013 All-CKL Basketball


First team: *Caylee Richardson, Hesston, so.; *Tena Loewen , Hillsboro, sr.; *Kylah Comley, Sterling, fr.; *Hailey Davis, Haven, sr.; *Addie Lackey, Hillsboro, jr.; *Brenna McClure, Lyons, so.; *Ashley Rogers, Haven, sr.

Second team: Ashley Weaver, Hesston, sr.; Cami Richardson, Hesston, fr.; Dani Dowell, Sterling, sr.; Aubree Nuest, Sterling, jr.; Danae Bina, Hillsboro, jr.; Payton Hoeme, Pratt, sr.; Jenson Maydew, Pratt, jr.

Honorable mention: Madison Bangert, Kingman, jr.; Sada Smith, Kingman, so.; Kelsey Unruh, Hesston, so.; Ali Jost, Hess?ton, jr.; Samantha Stallbaumer, Haven, so.; Aubrey Hollinger, Lyons, jr.; Alexis Lasater, Lyons, so.; Sydney Beat, Halstead, jr.; Andi Dowell, Sterling, so.; Lydia Lambert, Sterling, sr.; Hannah McBride, Smoky Valley, jr.; Maci Schlehuber, Hillsboro, sr.; Paige Stewart, Nickerson, jr.; Marissa Stewart, Nickerson, jr.; Whitney Tilley, Pratt, sr.


First team: *Luke Johnson, Haven, sr.; *Anthony Santiago, Halstead, jr.; *Brett Weinbrenner, Hillsboro, jr.; *Austin Maxwell, Sterling, sr.; *Grant Raleigh , Hesston, so.; *Skylar Dean, Pratt, sr.; *Wyatt McKinney, Hesston, jr.

Second team: Ryan Schalder , Hesston, jr.; Shaq Thiessen, Hillsboro, sr.; Andy Osner, Smoky Valley, sr.; Ryan McClure, Lyons, jr.; Matthew Vincent, Lyons, sr.; Jed Beachy, Haven, sr.; Mitchell Packard, King?man, jr.

Honorable mention: Tyler Albright, King?man, sr.; Tim Hendrixson, Haven, so.; Blake Bohling, Halstead, sr.; Ryan O?Toole, Nick?erson, sr.; Grady Kirkhart, Lyons, so.; Devan Herb, Halstead, jr.; Holden Hendricks, Smoky Valley, sr.; Harry Faber, Hillsboro, sr.; Briton Hawk, Smoky Valley, sr.; Josh Wiebe, Hillsboro, sr.; Jake Jaderston, Sterling, sr.; Tyler McCartney, Hesston, so.; Kirk Engel?land, Sterling, sr.; Chase Hageman, Pratt, sr.

* Unanimous selection




















More from Hillsboro Free Press
HPL offers a summer reading program
Hillsboro Public Library’s 2022 Summer Reading Program, Oceans of Possibilities, continues with...
Read More