12 athletes feted by WSL coaches

Twelve athletes from Canton-Galva, Centre, Goessel and Peabody-Burns have received all-league recognition from Wheat State League coaches.

Canton-Galva—Three Eagles have received recognition.

Representing the 10-12 girls’ team, senior Kelli Nightingale and freshman Emma Ruddle were named to the first team.

Senior Hunter Pearson represents the 4-17 boys’ team as an honorable mention selection.

Centre—Four Cougars were recognized.

For the 12-10 girls, junior Kate Basore was named to the first team and senior Shelby Pankratz received honorable mention honors.

Meanwhile, senior Dylan Deines and junior Cole Srajer represent the 14-5 boys as first-team selections.

Goessel—Four Bluebirds have earned honors.

Representing the 19-4 girls as first-team selections are juniors Eden Hiebert and Brittney Hiebert. Ryan Hoopes was named Coach of the Year.

Meanwhile, junior Jordan Griffin and freshman Dylan Lindeman received honorable mention honors for the 7-14 boys.

Peabody-Burns—Senior Austin Reynolds was the sole Warrior to receive recognition. He represents the 2-17 boys as an honorable mention selection.

2017 All-WSL Basketball


First team: Eden Hiebert, jr., Goessel; Brittney Hiebert, jr., Goessel; Lauren Campuzano, so., Rural Vista; Emma Ruddle, fr., Canton-Galva; Melanie Renken, jr., Little River; Kelli Nightingale, sr., Canton-Galva; Carley Rohleder, sr., Solomon; Jordyn Schrader, sr., Herington; Hannah Riedy, fr., Rural Vista; Kate Basore, jr., Centre.

Honorable mention: Shelby Pankratz, sr., Centre; Bailey Unruh, jr., Elyria Christian; Melea Redenbaugh, jr., Elyria Christian; Gabi Nelms, jr., Wakefield; Haylee Weeks, sr., Herington.

2017 All-WSL Basketball


First team: Braden Nielsen, so., Solomon; Tyler Thiessen, jr., Elyria Christian; Clay Zeller, sr., Little River; Cole Srajer, jr., Centre; Seppe Van Hulten, sr., Rural Vista; Cade Stillwell, sr., Rural Vista; Dylan Deines, sr., Centre; Aidan Fields, so., Elyria Christian; Noah Swarts, sr., Solomon; Nathan Jackson, jr., Wakefield.

Honorable mention: Hunter Pearson, sr., Canton-Galva; Jordan Griffin, jr., Goessel; Jacob Harmon, jr., Solomon; Austin Reynolds, sr., Peabody-Burns; Dylan Lindeman, fr., Goessel.

Written By
More from Janae Rempel
Jays win big over Friends
The Tabor College women?s basketball team made more than half of its...
Read More