WSL releases picks for all-league football

Area schools were well-represented for all-league football honors for the Wheat State League this season as determined by the coaches.

Centre, which finished the year 5-4 overall, placed two players on the first team, senior Justin Dienes and junior Kyle Methvin. Houston Svoboda, a senior, received honorable mention.

Goessel?s 6-4 team was represented by three seniors on the first team: Trey Schmidt, Nic Buller and Shane Goerzen. Zach Showalter, a junior, received honorable mention.

Three seniors also were selected for the first team from Peabody-Burns? 7-3 squad. They were Hunter Pickens, Tommy Morris and Lucas Larsen. A fourth senior, Austin Savage, received honorable mention.

Wheat State League

2012 all-league football selections

First team: Justin Deines, Centre, senior; Kyle Methvin, Centre, junior; Trey Schmidt, Goessel, senior; Nic Buller, Goessel, senior; Shane Goerzen, Goessel, senior; Trevor Hostetter, Hope, junior; Austin Pierce, Hope, senior; Chet Cordell, Little River, senior; Tanner Hodgson, Little River, senior; Ethan Wright, Little River, senior; Brady Holler, Little River, senior; Hunter Pickens, Peabody-Burns, senior; Tommy Morris, Peabody-Burns, senior; Lucas Larsen, Peabody- Burns, senior; Colton Shirack, Solomon, junior; Josh Burdine, Solomon, senior; Blayne Neilson, Solomon, senior; Hunter Base, Solomon, senior; John Doll, Wakefield, senior; Sam Morgan, White City, junior.

Honorable mention: Houston Svoboda. Centre, senior; Zach Showalter, Goessel, junior; Dustin Davidson, Hope, junior; Trevor Smyres, Little River, junior; Austin Savage, Peabody-Burns, senior; Craig Wiese, Solomon, senior; Keenan Westerman, Wakefield, sophomore; Jace Beavers, White City, senior.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Goessel Board tours facility changes
The Aug. 11 Goessel school board meeting started in the board room...
Read More