Wheat State all-league football released

Area teams Peabody-Burns, Centre and Goessel were well-represented on the 2013 all-league selections made by the Wheat State League coaches.

Peabody-Burns, which qualified for the 8-man Div. I state playoffs and finished with an 8-2 record, had four players named to the first team and one received honorable mention.

Heading the list of first-teamers was senior Fred Winsor. As a halfback, Wins?or ran for 1,353 yards and 22 touchdowns on 166 carries. At linebacker, he had 55 total tackles with five tackles for a loss.

Junior quarterback Brax?ton Kyle threw for 804 yards and seven touchdowns on 52-for-108 passing; he ran for 657 yards and nine touchdowns on 137 carries. A safety on defense, he was in on 43 total tackles and picked off four passes.

Senior Xavier Jabary, a center on offense and a defen?sive tackle, led Pea?body-Burns with 80 total tackles, including 17 for a loss and 7.5 quarterback sacks.

Sophomore Clayton Philpott ran for 261 yards and five touchdowns as a halfback, and caught 11 passes for 212 yards and six touchdowns.

At defensive end, Philpott was in on 51 total tackles, including nine for minus yardage and 15.5 quarterback sacks.

Junior Kyle Seeney received honorable mention. He rushed 34 times for 197 yards and caught four passes for 34 and one score. On defense, he was in on 65 total tackles, including three for losses.

The 6-3 Centre Cougars had three players named to the first team: seniors Kyle Methvin and Chad Mueller and junior Dakota Stimpson. Terren Thompson received honorable mention.

The 2-7 Goessel Bluebirds were represented on the first team by senior Brian Hie?bert, who was credited with 67 total tackles, three sacks and three fumble recoveries as a defensive lineman.

Senior Zach Showalter received honorable mention. As a receiver, he caught 34 passes for 474 yards and four touchdowns. On defense, he was credited with 49 tackles, two sacks and two fumble recoveries.

Wheat State League

2013 all-league football

First team: Kyle Methvin, Centre, sr.; Chad Mueller, Centre, sr.; Dakota Stimp?son, Centre, jr.; Brian Hiebert, Goessel, sr.; Adam Adkins, Hope, sr.; Trevor Hostetter, Hope, sr.; Dustin David?son, Hope, sr.; Ty Wood, Hope, sr.; Trevor Smyres, Little River, sr.; Laramie Peters, Little River, jr.; Fred Winsor, Peabody-Burns, sr.; Braxton Kyle, Pea?body-Burns, jr.; Xavier Jabary, Peabody-Burns, sr.; Clayton Philpott, Peabody-?Burns, so.; Mark Aylward, Solomon, sr.; Colton Shirack, Solomon, sr.; Alex Garrett, Solomon, sr; Mason Demars, Solomon, sr.; Zac Melius, Wakefield, so.; James Williams, Wakefield, so.; Sam Morgan, White City, sr.

Honorable mention: Terren Thomp?son, Centre, sr.; Zach Showalter, Goessel, sr.; Quinton Adkins, Hope, jr.; Grant Harvey, Little River, jr.; Kyle Seeney, Peabody-Burns, jr.; Blake Homman, Solomon, jr.; Keenan Wester?man, Wakefield, jr.; Terrance Egger, White City, sr.

Coach of the year: Jeff Hostetter, Hope.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Births (March 30, 2010)
Ezekiel Lee Guhr ? Quentin and Christine Guhr of Hillsboro announce the...
Read More