Jason Hamm wins derby

Jason Hamm (left) and Matt Foth go nose to nose during the championship heat. They were the only two left at this point. Hamm had smoke/steam coming out of his car, but they continued circling and hitting each other. Moments later Foth's engine caught fire for the second time; Hamm was declared the winner. Phyllis Richert photo. Click image to enlarge
Jason Hamm, Hillsboro, outlasted all other entries to claim the $1,000 championship prize at the Marion County Fair Demo?lition Derby on Saturday.

Hamm led a Hillsboro sweep of the top five places. Matt Foth claimed $700 for second place, Jesse Hamm $400 for third, Scott Schultz $150 for fourth and Brad Foth $100 for fifth.

Before another large crowd at the fairgrounds arena, Jason Hamm earned a berth in the championship heat by finishing second in the fourth of four qualifying heats, which was won by Matt Foth.

Scott Schultz won the first qualifying heat with Darcy Unruh finishing second. Jesse Hamm won Heat 2 with Phillip Klenda as runnerup. Phillip Terrell took first in the third heat with Russell Terrell in second place.

Joining the championship heat by placing first or second in two consolation heats were Brad Foth, Matt Druse, respectively, from Heat 1 and Steven McCombs and Jason Bernhardt from Heat 2.

Prize money this year was increased from last year?s designation of $800 for first, $500 for second and $300 for third.

In the lone heat for compact cars, Matt Druse claimed first, Lloyd Anderson second, Randy Klassen third and Kevin Mueller fourth.

Brandon Moss won $100 as the ?Last Chance Heat? winner while Eric Bartel won $100 as the recipient of the ?Mad Dog Award,? which is given to the driver who makes the most crowd-pleasing hits.

?Thrills and Spills?

For the first time, the fair included a motor competition on Friday night called ?Thrills and Spills,? which featured all-terrain vehicles and a figure-eight race for compact cars.

In the ATV competition, Brandon Klassen edge Jared Dyck for the title in the younger division.

In the older division, Kevin Bernhardt took first, Thane Meier second and Dean Suderman third.

In the figure-eight race, Lloyd Anderson claimed first, Dean Suderman second, Kevin Mueller third, Randy Klassen fourth and Dustin Hendricks fifth.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Fire destroys interior of Lehigh home; assistance welcomed
  A fire that begun shortly after midnight on Sunday morning destroyed...
Read More