Hillsboro golfers finish first summer league

Michael Padgett and Anthony Thiessen claimed the championship in the first-ever summer men?s league sponsored by the Hillsboro Golf Association. The league of 18 two-man teams competed Wednesday evenings for eight weeks, finishing July 16.

?The response was just tremendous,? said Padgett, who helped organize the tournament. ?I think we?re going to have a lot more interest next year, which could be challenging with the 18-team limit.?

The teams played a variety of formats over the eight-week span, including alternate shot, scramble, best ball and match play. The top six teams, in order, were Scott O?Hare and Ric Johnson, Bill Manuel and Lonnie Hamm, Jay Kimberly and Phil Thiessen, John Knaak Jr. and John Knaak Sr., and Gary Andrews and Ken Johnson.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Hospitals see separate futures
Officials for Hillsboro Community Medical Center say they are interested in last...
Read More