Durham?s ?63 state champion team meets for pre-induction reunion

Click image to enlarge

The 1963 state champion Durham Hornets gathered Saturday at the Durham Community Center in preparation for their induction into the Kansas Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame. Author Steven Michael Farney was present with his book ?Title Towns! Class BB Boys Basketball Champions of Kansas,? which documents the history of all 17 class BB state champions. The ?63 Hornets went 26-0 and will join undefeated Class BB state champions Dwight (?66) and Tescott (?67) in the KCBA hall of fame. The induction ceremony will be at 1:30 p.m. Aug. 1 at the Washburn University student union in Topeka. An additional presentation will be made during halftime of the boys? all-star game, to be played that evening at Lee Arena on the Washburn campus. The 1963 Hornets in attendance Saturday were: (from left) coach Dennis Brunner, Galen Frick, Larry Wedel, Warren Weibert, Kenny Pankratz, Lloyd Meier and Bob Klein. Not pictured are Dwight Negley, Lauren Frantz, Larry Kerbs and Ricky Riffel.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
? The Marion Happy Hustlers held their monthly meeting Feb. 7. There...
Read More