All nine softball starters feted by CKL coaches

All nine starters on Hills?boro High School?s state-qualifying softball team received all-league recognition at one level or another from the coaches of the Central Kansas League.

Five Trojans were picked for the first team, three for the second team and one received honorable mention.

Pratt, the first CKL champion, had three starters on the first team, three on the second team and three with honorable mention.

Trojans picked for the first team were Courtney Weber as a pitcher, Sammy Koons at first base, Steph Sanders at second base, Taylor Nikkel for the outfield and Tena Loewen as a utility player.

Voted to the second team were Allie Faul at catcher, Danae Bina at third base and Krista Reimer for the outfield.

Amy Bartel received honroable mention as an outfielder.

Nikkel and Faul are seniors, Loewen is a sophomore and Bina a freshman. The rest of the Trojan honorees are juniors.

Hillsboro finished its season with a 16-5 record, losing in the first round of the Class 3A state tournament.


2011 CKL All-League Softball

First team

Pitcher: Aubrey Denno, jr., Halstead; Brittnee Hill, fr., Pratt; Eryn Stockman, So., Smoky Valley; Courtney Weber, jr., Hills?boro.

Catcher: Jodi Garrett, sr., Pratt.

First base: Sammy Koons, jr. Hillsboro.

Second base: Steph Sanders, jr., Hillsboro.

Shortstop: Taylor Lowery, sr., Hesston.

Third base: Aryn Hiebert, jr., Hesston.

Outfield: Bailey Gillig, fr., Pratt, Rachel Miller, sr., Haven; Taylor Nikkel, sr.. Hillsboro; Rachel Norberg, sr. Smoky Valley.

Utility: Tena Loewen, so., Hillsboro

Designated hitter: Sarah Crouse, jr., Smoky Valley.

Second team

Pitcher: Kelly Buckman, sr., Lyons; MacKenzie Rohling, so., Haven; Aubrie Van Steenburg, jr., Halstead.

Catcher: Allie Faul, sr.,, Hillsboro.

First base: Danika Good, sr., Hesston.

Second base: Cara Johnson, so., Lyons; Avery Neumann, jr., Pratt.

Shortstop: Ashton Bowen, jr., Halstead.

Third base: Danae Bina, fr., Hillsboro.

Outfield: Whitney Amaro, jr., Pratt; Darian Gonzalez, fr., Hesston; Hannah Jeff?ery, jr., Haven; Krista Reimer, jr., Hills?boro.

Utility: Lauren Rambat, fr., Pratt

Designated hitter: Emily Pomeroy, sr., Hesston.

Honorable Mention

Catcher: Darian Pickering, so., Kingman; Victoria Roberts, sr., Halstead; Hannah Splitter, jr., Sterling.

First base: Marina Patrick, jr., Smoky Valley; Molly Poe, sr., Kingman.

Second base: Taylor Suhler, so., Hesston.

Shortstop: Brooke Boeken, so., Sterling; Brandy Mader, sr., Nickerson.

Third base: Taylor Fuhr, so. Pratt; Melissa Steffan, sr., Lyons.

Outfield: Amy Bartel, jr., Hillsboro; Dakota Jones, fr., Pratt.

Utility: Dani Molitor, jr. Kingman.

Designated hitter: Kinzie Spurgin, so. Pratt.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Bredemier, Funk feted for efforts
Two other landowners will receive awards from the Marion County Conserva?tion District...
Read More