TC strong at ACCK

Heidi Schmidt claims third place in the 1,500 meters at South?western on Saturday. Schmidt won the 1,500 at the ACCK meet on Tuesday. Phyllis Richert / Free Press. Click image to enlarge.

In a dominating performance the Tabor College men and women each won their respective divisions at the ACCK meet in North Newton, April 24.

Tabor men beat the runner-up Kansas Wesleyan 247-175 and the Tabor women defeated defeated second place McPher?son 247-177.

?We have good numbers, and that?s what it takes to win a meet like this,? coach Dave Kroeker told the Newton Kansan. ?We?re starting to lower our times and lengthen our distances. We?re getting our legs back, so our workouts are a little easier.?

But the competition at the top of the conference is strong, and perennial champion South?western showed some strength at its home meet over the weekend.

Southwestern?Tabor traveled to Winfield Saturday for a final tuneup for the KCAC meet.

Against a deep field, Trent Voth, Nathaniel Porter and Aaron Jenkins all recorded third-place finishes to lead the men?s squad.

Voth finished the 110-meter hurdles in 15.29 seconds, Porter finished the 400-meter hurdles in 55.95 and Tony Loewen took fourth in 59.16.

Jenkins leaped 21 feet, 71⁄2 to take third in the long jump.

Tabor?s jumpers added three more top-five finishes: Aaron Gallaway took fifth in the long jump (20-8), Jenkins was fourth in the triple jump (42-61⁄2), and Jeff Harms was fifth in the high jump (6-1).

The 4×100 relay team finished fourth in 42.92.

For the women, Dana Champlin won the javelin (125-10), Breanna Wray was fourth in the shot put (39-5 inches) and third in the hammer throw (142).

Erin Vance placed fifth in the long jump (15-2) and Leah Kopper took fifth in the triple jump (32-6).

Shelby Miller placed fourth in the 400 (58.83) and Heidi Schmidt was third in the 1,500 (5:01). The 4×800 team took second in 10:05.88 and the 4×400 team took fifth in 4:10.98.

ACCK?At the ACCK meet on Wednesday, Ashley Malcom led the women with wins in the high jump (5-2) and triple jump (36-1⁄4).

Esty Wichert won the hammer throw (121-1⁄4), and Amanda Krier won the discus (117-31⁄2).

Jera Teselle won the 10,000-meters (49:26), Heidi Schmidt the 1,500 (5:11), Shelby Miller the 400 (1:00) and Jennifer Schmidt the 100 (12.55). Tabor also won the 4×100 (50.63) and 4×400 (4:13).

For the men, Brent Wichert won the discus (144-1⁄4) feet Caleb Marsh the pole vault (14-0).

Nathaniel Porter (57.78) and Trent Voth (14.57) took top spots in the 400- and 100-meter hurdles, respectively.

Zac Remboldt won the 3,000-meter steeplechase (10:48) and Caleb Schroeder won the 800 (2:03). Hector LaBoy won the 100 (10.6).

?We?ll be back here in 10 days or so (for conference),? Kroeker told the Kansan. ?This gives us a chance to get used to this facility, and we look forward to coming back next Friday.?

Coming?The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference annual track and field championships will be at 2 p.m. Friday and 1 p.m. Saturday at North Newton.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Tabor tripped up at Sterling
A three-overtime thriller ended with the Sterling College women 89-84 over the...
Read More