Tabor track teams finish in second

Trent Voth accelerates over the final hurdle during Friday?s preliminary round of the KCAC 110-meter championship. Voth won the final with a time of 14.9 seconds. Andrew Ottoson / Free Press. Click image to enlarge.
The Tabor College track and field men and women teams completed their season by finishing second to Southwestern College at the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference meet Friday and Saturday at North Newton.

Tabor?s Ashley Malcom took advantage of the two-day format and recorded four top-two finishes.

Malcom claimed first place Friday in the long jump (17 feet, 83⁄4 inches) and second place in the high jump (5-2). The next day, Malcom set a new meet record in the triple jump (38-71⁄2) and took second in the 400-meter hurdles (1:08).

The record-setting triple jump came on the heels of a record-tying leap by Southw?estern?s Sarah Morton (37-8). The KCAC record mark was set by Denise Race in 1987.

In the NAIA, the A-standard triple jump to qualify for the national competition is 37-5.

Shelby Miller finished sixth in the long jump (16-31⁄2) and second in the pole vault (8-6) while Jennifer Palmgren took fourth in that event (8-0).

On the track, Miller won the 400 (58.52) and Heidi Schmidt was second in the 1,500 (5:07).

Jera Teselle took third in the 10,000 (47:47), Jennifer Schmidt fifth in the 100 (12.63), Andrea Batista sixth in the 200 (27.07) and Erin Vance sixth in the 100-meter hurdles (18.22).

The 4×100 relay team of Batista, Malcom, Miller and Jennifer Schmidt finished third (50.28). The 4×400 unit of Miller, Jennifer Schmidt, Leah Kopper and Malcom finished second (4:15). The 4×800 crew of Heidi Schmidt, Carrie Schroeder, Ashley Schmidt and Miller (9:59) finished behind Southwestern, who set a new meet record (9:54).

In the throwing events, Breanna Wray met the NAIA B-standard in the shot put (41-2) to place fifth. She claimed third in the hammer throw (135-11).

Estelle Wichert?s hammer throw of 124-4 was good for sixth while Dana Champlin took fourth in javelin (126-6).

For the men, the top performances came in the pole vauly and hurdles.

Trent Voth won the 110 hurdles and surpassed the NAIA B-standard qualifying time by finishing in 14.90 seconds. Tony Loewen was fourth (16.07).

In the 400 hurdles, Nathaniel Porter took first (55.54), while Voth (57.72) and Loewen (58.70) finished third and fourth, respectively.

Caleb Marsh won the pole vault (14-0) and Silas Hibbs took third (13-6). Aaron Jenkins was second in the long jump (23-3⁄4) and third in the triple jump (45-13⁄4). Matt Dean (44-111⁄4) and Garrett Bryant (43-21⁄4) took fourth and fifth in the triple jump, respectively.

Jeff Harms tied for third in high jump (6-4) Tim Funk took fifth (6-0). Jarod Richardson placed fifth in the shot 45-4.

On the track, Hector LaBoy (10.86) finished fourth in the 100 behind Southwestern sprinters Andrew Pearson, Bryant Andrews and Charles Wells. Pearson?s time of 10.63 surpassed the national A-standard qualifying time.

LaBoy took third in the 200 (22.17) behind Andrews and Pearson.

Jeff Anenson (51.40) finished sixth in the 400. In the 800, Caleb Schroeder (1:59) and Zac Rembolt (2:00) finished fourth and fifth. Dan Sigley finished sixth in the 5,000 (17:40).

The 4×400 relay team of Brent Nelson, Rembolt, Anenson and Schroeder took fourth (3:27) while the 4×800 unit of Rembolt, Adam McPeck, Rick Johnson and Schroeder took third (8:13).

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Elizabeth Meyer named next state FFA president
To say Elizabeth Meyer had a memorable time at the 88th Kansas...
Read More