Tabor tops polls at KCAC Media Day

The Tabor College men?s and women?s basketball teams swept their respective media and coaches? polls at the annual KCAC Basketball Media Day Tuesday.

Women?The Bluejay women topped the media poll with nine first-place votes and 109 points. Oklahoma Wesleyan received the final first-place vote and garnered 98 total points.

Tabor topped the coaches? poll with seven first place votes and 107 points. Oklahoma Wesleyan earned three first-place votes, and Kansas Wesleyan one.

Tabor, Oklahoma Wesleyan and Southwestern all advanced to the 2014-15 NAIA Division II national championship tournament.

Last year, the Bluejays won the regular-season title with a 15-3 record. Tabor went 2-1 at the national tournament, defeating Marian and Southern Oregon before falling to Briar Cliff in the round of eight.

Tabor returns four starters from last year?s team: senior Mallory Zuercher, and juniors Tena Loewen, Kaleigh Troxell and Sam Short.

Key losses include third-team All-American Tonisha Dean, Taylor Janzen and Erin Maxwell.

Tabor has brought in 12 new players this season, and coach Shawn Reed said he expects increased scoring opportunities this season.

?We were pretty good defensively last year,??Reed said. ?We rebounded pretty well. I think we?ll have a few more options for shooting the basketball and creating for others than we have, maybe, in the past.?

The Bluejays will open the season at William Woods, an NAIA Division I team, Nov. 3.

Men?The Bluejay men topped the media poll with seven first-place votes and 104 points, ahead of Saint Mary with one first-place vote (97) and Bethany with two (92).

Tabor also topped the coaches? poll with four first-place votes and 103 points, narrowly edging Saint Mary, who earned four first-place votes and 102 points. Friends earned two first-place votes (92) and Bethany one (81).

Last year, the Bluejays won the regular-season title with a 15-3 record and advanced to the national tournament, where they lost to Morningside in the first round.

Tabor returns three starters from last year. Key returners include seniors Malik Brooks, John Jedneak and Jake Arck and junior Lance Carter.

Key losses include Honorable Mention All-American Andrew Thomas, Honorable Mention All-KCAC Dewayne Biggs and JT Nemit.

?I do feel like we have a lot of experience, maybe as much experience as we?ve ever had in my coaching career at Tabor, back,? coach Micah Ratzlaff said. ?We?ve always been pretty deep. I think that?ll continue this year.?

Tabor is scheduled to open the season at William Woods, an NAIA Division I school, Nov. 3.

Tags from the story
Written By
More from Janae Rempel
Warriors earn five gold medals
The Marion track and field team competed at the 13-team Conrad Nightingale...
Read More