KCAC head coaches award honors to seven Bluejays

Seven players from the Tabor College women’s and men’s teams received recognition by the Kansas Colle­giate Athletics Conference for their performance during the season.

Four Bluejays on the women’s team were recognized based on the vote of KCAC head women’s basketball coaches.

Taylor Deniston, a junior guard from Humboldt, was a unanimous pick for the KCAC second team. She averaged 13 points per game during the regular season, with 82 assists and 35 steals.

Morgan Ediger, a junior guard from Cimarron, was named to the third team despite missing 13 games due to injury. Ediger averaged 16.4 points in 15 games, with 37 assists and 22 steals.

Tristen Leiszler, a junior guard from Concordia, received honorable. Leiszler averaged 9.1 points with 31 assists and 28 steals.

Sammy Jo Peterson, a guard from Cottonwood Falls, was named to the All-KCAC Freshman Team. She averaged 8.3 points per game with 41 assists and 19 steals.

Jordyn Miller of South­wes­tern College was named Player of the Year, Sydney Ahaneku of Bethany College was named Defensive Player of the Year, Kylah Comley of Sterling College is Freshman of the Year, and Newcomer of the Year goes to Lauren Welsch of Bethany College.

Men’s awards

Three members of the Tabor College men’s team received recognition based on the voting of the KCAC men’s head basketball coaches.

Senior guard Julian Winton, from Kansas City, Mo., was named to the All-KCAC First Team for the second year in a row.

Winton averaged 22.8 points per game with 49.4 percent shooting accuracy from the floor. In addition to his scoring, Winton distributed 97 assists and nabbed 47 steals.

DeShun Patterson, a senior guard from Minneapolis, Minn., received honorable mention. He averaged 11.9 points per game with 50 assists and 32 steals.

Alan Urrutia, a senior from Valdosta, Ga., was named to the five-member All-KCAC Defensive Team. He made 49 steals, and averaged 7.2 points per game and distributed a 91 assists.

Conference wide, Jordan Murdock of Friends Univer­sity was named Player of the Year honors, while KJ Mal­veau of Okla­homa Wesleyan Univer­sity was awarded Newcomer of the Year.

Terell Gandy of Kansas Wesleyan University earned Defensive Player of the Year, and Jamiah Windom-Haynes of Sterling College was named Freshman of the Year.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
HHS competes and places in forensics meet
Annaliese Jorgenson, Cloe Dirks and Austyn Driggers. These Hillsboro High School students...
Read More