Two from HHS named to district honor band

Two band students from Hillsboro High School were selected to be in the South Central District Honor Band.

Clay Shewey was selected as fourth chair percussion and J. Michael Hiebert as sixth chair percussion.

The pair auditioned against 24 other students from the south central Kansas area. Spencer Brown was selected as the first alternate out of 18 who audtioned.

?This is the first time students have made the District Honor band in about 10 years,? said Gregg Walker, director of instrumental music. ?It is very difficult to prepare and compete against all those who tried out. This is quite an honor.?

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Blessed Christmas
?Night In the Barn? again portrays the reason for the season Members...
Read More