Three Peabody-Burns students named Kansas Honor Scholars

Three students from Peabody-Burns Middle School/High School were honored Kansas Honor Scholars at a Sept. 24 banquet at the Holiday Manor Center in McPherson Sept. 24.

Tracy Henry, daughter of Kent and Cathy Henry; Braxton Kyle, son of Bob and Becky Kyle; and Nick Preheim, son of Randy and Kathy Preheim, were invited to the dinner to hear speaker Kevin Corbett, president of the KU Alumni Association.

The students were presented with a Webster?s New College Dictionary by PBHS principal Ken Parry as well as a certificate to commemorate their achievement as a Kansas Honor Scholar.

The Kansas Honors Program recognizes and awards high school seniors for their academic achievements. Each year KU alumni gather in more than 37 locations across the state for an awards ceremony and honorary dinner or reception.

All high-school seniors who rank academically in the top 10 percent of their class are chosen for the Kansas Honors Program, a KU tradition since 1971.

It is designed to promote academic excellence in secondary education, to reward high school seniors for their hard work and dedication, and to support our Kansas communities.

Students also are given a chance to qualify for a $4,000 scholarship to KU. Scholars are selected based on academic records through the previous semester that are provided by high school principals.

Selections are made regardless of curricula (weighted or non-weighted), majors, occupational plans or higher-education goals.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
HRC sets November dates for open gym
The Hillsboro Recreation Commission will be sponsoring open gym from 7 p.m....
Read More