Tabor College dedicates townhouses


A dedication ceremony for the new Tabor College townhouses was held Oct. 20 during homecoming. The ceremony included music by the Tabor College Brass Ensemble, directed by Richard Cantwell (right), and ribbon cuttings for each of the three halls. Above: Ed Fitzgerald cuts the ribbon at Hiebert Hall, which is dedicated to Daniel Hiebert and Ruth Hiebert. Loewen Hall is dedicated to Bill and Joyce Loewen, and Wiebe Hall to David and Lorma Wiebe. The "Continuing a Legacy of Distinction" capital campaign began in 2002 with a goal of raising $8.8 million for new townhouses, renovation of the men's quad dormitory, the annual fund and building endowment. About $3.55 million was designated for the new townhouses. The largest single donation toward the project, a $750,000 grant from the Mabee Foundation of Tulsa, Okla., completed the campaign in September 2006. More than 3,000 people contributed financially to the project.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Velma L. Dyck Jantzen, 75
Velma L. Dyck Jantzen, 75, of Hesston, a retired schoolteacher, died Jan....
Read More