Seven FFA students from Centre, 2 from Marion earn top degree

Seven FFA students from Centre and two from Marion-Florence were among the 57 students from the South Central District who were awarded the State FFA Degree at the 89th Kansas FFA State Conven­tion, May 31 to June 2 on the Kansas State University campus.

Qualifying from Centre were Dylan Michael Deines, Cole Methvin, Greg David Oborny, Hannah Peterson, Daniel Rudolph, James Spohn and Cole Srajer.

Aiden Cairns and Cade Harms qualified from the Marion-Florence chapter.

The State Degree is the highest honor the Kansas FFA Association can bestow upon its members.

In order to achieve this award, members must meet the following requirements: have received their Chapter FFA Degree, been an FFA member and agricultural education student for at least two years, earned at least $2,000 or worked 600 hours in their Supervised Agricul­tural Experience program, given a six-minute speech about agriculture or FFA, partici­pated in eight different leadership activities, received a “C” average or better in high school and shown a record of outstanding leadership and community involvement.