MES spelling bee winners will move on to county be Feb. 9

Sixth grader Victoria Smith was this year?s spelling bee winner at Marion Elementary School and she will go on to compete with other finalists at the annual Marion County event Feb. 9, said Rod Garman, MES principal.

Smith was a repeat champion having won the bee last year too. This year?s runner-up, Jarrett Johnson, was also a sixth grader.

?Our alternate, or third place finisher, was Lindsey Sigel, fifth grade,? Garman said.

The county bee will be at 10 a.m. at the USD 408 Performing Arts Center and the public is invited.

The bee was open to fourth, fifth and sixth grade students.

The following is a list of the students who participated in the MES spelling bee.

Fourth grade students were Noah Kukuk, Ethan Hinton, Hap Waddell, Samantha Kelsey, Destiny Bourdreaux (competing in place of Emmy Hess), Jarred Rahe, Skylar Thornbro, Devin Soyez, Eli Hett, Jeeb Corona, and Michaela Regnier, alternate.

Fifth graders were Payton Harms, Caleb Hett, Devin Hamm, Corbin Wheeler, Jordan Whitwell, Lindsey Sigel, Courtney Herzet, Jacob Crabb, Jack Schneider, Janson Garman and alternates Evan Calhoun and Carley Stapleford.

In sixth grade, participants were Cade Harms, William Holt, Jarrett Johnson, Taylor May, Mason Pedersen, Jimi Dornbush, Marissa Jacobson, Josh Knolla, Devin Regnier, Tori Smith and alternates Sage Nuss and Tyler Arocha.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Wedding- Walker, Bruner wed in Maple Hill
Jennifer Lenae Walker of Hillsboro and Shawn Thomas Bruner of Nicholasville, Ky.,...
Read More