Hillsboro seniors selected for awards, scholarships

As part of the Hillsboro High School commencement on Saturday, students were recognized for their achievements as well as scholarship and other honors.

• Valedictorians: Rebecca Kaufman, Kyle Unruh.

• Salutatorian: Callie Linnens.

• President’s Award for Educational Excellence: Carson Herbel, Jonathan Hinerman, Jeffery Jorgen­son, Rebecca Kaufman, Benjamin Koop, Thomas Larabee, Paige Proffitt, Savannah Unruh, Braden Vogt.

• Kansas State Scholars: Jonathan Hinerman, Rebecca Kaufman, Callie Linnens.

• C.M. Sextro Academic Scholarship for Mathematics ($1,250): Jonathan Hiner­man.

• USD 410 Hillsboro Edu­ca­tion Association Scholar­ship ($300): Rebecca Kaufman.

• American Legion Post 366 Scholarship ($500 each): Ben Koop, Dusten Plenert.

• Dale Dennis Excellence in Education Award ($200): Vance Klassen.

• Hillsboro FFA Alumni Chapter ($300 each): Bran­don Klassen.

• Hillsboro Lions Club Scholarship ($500 each): Kyle Unruh, Brittany Schale.

• LEOS Community Service Scholarship: Kyle Unruh ($300), Brittany Schale ($200).

• The American Red Cross “Young Minds Change Lives” Scholarship ($250): Brandon Klassen, Vance Klassen, Brittany Schale.

• Kurt Bowman Memor­ial Scholarship ($400): Travis King.

• Golf Association Schol­ar­ship ($500): Carson Herbel.

• The Jerry L. Dalke Memorial Youth Award for HHS ($500): Kyle Unruh.

• The Hillsboro Commun­ity Medical Center Scholar­ship ($500): Callie Linnens.

• Senior Citizen of Marion County Scholarship ($500): Callie Linnens.

• Kansas State High School Activities Associa­tion Awards ($250 each): Rebecca Kaufman, Carson Herbel.

• Wiebe Good Citizen Scholarship ($2,500 each): Callie Linnens, Tyson Reimer.

• High honors: Jonathan Hinerman, Vance Klassen, Ben Koop, Callie Linnens, Preston Loewen, Paige Proffitt, Tyson Reimer, Kyle Unruh, Savannah Unruh.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Green resigns as TC cheer coach
Daryl Green has resigned his position as head cheer coach of Tabor...
Read More