HHS graduates 52 seniors during breezy ceremony





Fifty-two seniors received their diplomas at the 107th commencement for Hillsboro High School on a breezy and overcast Saturday at Joel H. Wiens Stadium.

The Class of 2013 was led from the Athletic Center on the north end of the stadium to the staging area by the high school faculty, who, for the first time in memory, were wearing the regalia of their alma maters.

Three seniors addressed the participants. Valedictorians Bailey Kauf?man and Tena Loewen reviewed the class?s journey through the school system.

Salutatorian Joshua Wiebe, citing a quote from professional basketball icon Michael Jordan, challenged his classmates to learn as from failure as from achievement.

Also addressing the graduates were Superintendent Steve Noble and Hillsboro mayor Delores Dalke.

Noble thanked the faculty for their service to students, and challenged the graduates to see that receiving their high school diploma represents a significant accomplishment, ?it guarantees you nothing after today except one thing: choice.?

Dalke invited to students to return to their hometown when they complete their education. To symbolize that invitation, each student received a ?key to the city? from Clint Seibel, city economic development director.

Students who graduate with honors were Kale Arnold, Taylor Carlson, Harrison Faber, Tyler Funk, Lauren Geis, Daniel Gray, Erika Just, Kateland Litchfield, Peyton Loewen, Micah Mash?burn, Christina Morris, Carter Pan?kratz, Jeffery Pritchard, Tyler Proffitt, Rachel Schneider Lucas Sinclair, Moriah Truitt, Erin Winter.

Graduating with high honors were Bailey Kaufman, Meghan Leihy, Tena Loewen, Maci Schlehuber, Nathan Unruh, Joshua Wiebe.

During the program, principal Max Heinrichs announced the winners of the scholarships and awards listed below.


Valedictorians: Bailey Kaufman, Tena Loewen.

Salutatorian: Joshua Wiebe

President?s Award for Educational Excellence: Harri?son Faber, Daniel Gray, Bailey Kaufman, Meghan Leihy, Tena Loewen, Maci Schlehuber, Joshua Wiebe, Erin Winter.

Kansas Board of Regents Scholars: Jordan Bezdek, Harrison Faber, Tyler Funk, Daniel Gray, Bailey Kaufman, Meghan Leihy, Tena Loewen, Carter Pankratz, Tyler Proffitt, Rachel Schneider.

Kansas ACT Scholars: Bailey Kaufman, Joshua Wiebe.

C.M. Sextro Academic Scholarship for Mathematics ($1,250): Nathan Unruh.

USD 410 Hillsboro Education Association Scholarship ($300): Erika Just.

American Legion Post 366 Scholarship ($500 each): Maci Schlehuber, Lucas Sinclair.

Dale Dennis Excellence in Education Award ($200): Bryce Roberts.

Marion County Farm Bureau: ($500): Bryce Roberts.

2013 Built Ford Tough-FFA scholarship ($1,000): Nathan Unruh.

Paul Rundstrom Memorial Scholarship ($500): Andrew Meier.

Earl Wineinger Scholarship ($500): Lauren Geis.

Hillsboro FFA Alumni Chapter ($300 each): Lauren Geis, Bryce Roberts, Nathan Unruh

Marion County 4-H Endowment Fund Scholarship ($500 each): Lauren Geis: Bryce Roberts.

Marion County Agriculture Future of America Scholarship ($3,200): Bryce Roberts.

Hillsboro Lions Club Scholarship ($500 each): Peyton Loewen, Erika Just.

American Red Cross ?Young Minds Change Lives? Scholarship ($250): Taylor Carlson.

Kurt Bowman Memorial Scholarship ($300): Erika Just

Hillsboro Community Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship ($500): Maci Kelsey.

Hillsboro Community Hospital Scholar?ship ($500): Maci Kelsey.

Kansas State High School Activities Association Awards ($250 each): Tyler Proffitt, Nathan Unruh.

Wiebe Good Citizen Scholarship ($2,500 each): Bailey Kaufman, Tena Loewen.



































More from Hillsboro Free Press
CVL team second at Babe Ruth district
Click image to enlarge The Cottonwood Valley League 13- to 15-year-old all-star...
Read More