College News (June 14, 2017)

• Six students from Marion County received academic distinction from Bethel College for the second second semester. Named to the Dean’s List, which requires a 3.7 grade-point average or higher were Anna Wiens, a freshman from Goessel, Heath Goertzen, a junior from Goessel, and four seniors: Tia Goertzen, Goessel; Reece Hiebert, Walton; Zachary Preheim, Peabody; and Benjamin Wiens, Goessel. Junior Nicholas Preheim, Peabody, was named to the honor roll.

• Students from Marion County who graduated from Bethel College this spring were Sharleen Francis, Goessel (bachelor of science, nursing); Tia Goertzen, Goessel (bachelor of science, social work); and Zachary Preheim, Peabody (bachelor of science, business administration).

• Two area students graduated from Southwes­tern College May 7, in Winfield. Melissa Hunter, Marion, received a bachelor of science in accounting, and Seth Topham, Peabody received a bachelor of science in biochemistry.

• Several students from the Free Press distribution area were among the 149 who graduated from Hesston College May 14. Kathryn Bolstad, a senior from Hillsboro, earned a bachelor of science degree. Receiving associate of arts degrees were: Sarah Booth, sophomore, Goessel; Erin Bru­baker, sophomore, Goessel. Calvin Plank, a sophomore from Marion earned an associate of general studies degrees.

• Several area students were recognized by Hesston College for their academic performance this spring. On the Dean’s List (3.90 to 4.00) were Erin Brubaker, sophomore, Goessel; Alicen Mey­sing, freshman, Canton; and Monica Plank, sophomore, Marion. Named to the Honor Roll (3.50 to 3.89) were Sarah Booth, sophomore, Goessel; and Calvin Plank, sophomore, Marion.

• Twenty-five are students were among the more than 3,700 Kansas State University students to earn semester honors for their academic performance during the spring semester. Achieving a grade-point average of 3.75 or above were: Austin Bullinger, Kaden Littrell of Canton; Caitlyn Maloney of Flo­rence; Eli Janzen, Benjamin Young of Galva; Jakob Han­schu, Kennedy Klein, Allison Troyer of Hillsboro; Carrie Carlson, Brenna Shields, Kristin Vinduska of Lin­colnville; Justin Bina, James Corona, Jenevieve Corona, Megan Davies, Kathryn Ehrlich, James Jones, Aaron Molle­ker, Bailey Robson, Zachary Robson, Amanda Stuchlik of Marion; Maken­zie Deines of Ramona; Mor­ganne Hamm, Elizabeth Meyer, Nicholas Meyer of Tampa.

• Three area students were among the 1,455 named by Fort Hays State Univer­sity to the Dean’s Honor Roll for the spring 2017 semester. Jehoiada Daniel Schmidt, Hillsboro, is a junior majoring in biology (wild­life). From Marion are Danielle Brooke Litke, a senior majoring in early childhood unified education, and Mcken­zee Lea Remmers, a sophomore majoring in biology (health professions).