College News (January 27, 2016)

? Aubrey Meier of Hills?boro was among the students graduating from Wash?burn University at the end of the fall semester from. Meier earned a bachelor?s degree in nursing.

? Fourteen area students earned academic distinction for the fall semester at Bethel College.

Thirteen students were named to the Dean?s List, which required a grade-point average of 3.7 to 4.0 for the semester. One students was named to the Honor Roll have a GPA from 3.5 to 3.69.

On the Dean?s List were Heath Goertzen of Goessel, Nicholas Preheim of Peabody and Elizabeth Schrag of Galva, all freshmen; Benjamin Wiens of Goessel, a sophomore; Tia Goertzen of Goessel, a junior, and seniors Joshua Booth of Goessel, James Goerzen of Goessel, Mikayla Hiebert of Peabody, Braden Unruh of Goessel, Jennifer Van Horn of Peabody and Peter Voth of Goessel.

Named to the Honor Roll were juniors Paige Middle?ton of Marion and Zachary Preheim of Peabody. Laird Goertzen of Goessel was the lone senior.

? Four Hillsboro residents were named to Okla?homa Baptist University?s academic honor roll for the fall 2015 semester. Three of them were named to the President?s Honor Roll, which requires a semester GPA of 3.7 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

The three are Emily Jost, a freshman pre-allied health and rehabilitation science major; Emily Sechrist, a freshman special education and elementary education major; and Juliana Sinclair, a freshman pre-allied health and rehabilitation science major.

The Dean?s Honor Roll included Amy Bartel, a senior nursing major with a GPA between 3.4 and 3.69.

? McPherson College has announced its honor roll and honorable mention students for the fall semester. To qualify for the honor roll, full-time students must earn a GPA of 3.55 or higher. Stu?dents with a GPA of 3.25 to 3.54 made the honorable mention roll.

Honor roll students from this area are Shannon Popp and Lisa Koehn, both seniors from Galva; Johanna Hoffman, a junior from Hillsboro; Maci Schle?huber, a junior from Hills?boro; Shelby Makovec a freshman from Lost Springs; and William Bossa, a senior from Marion. Ethan Winter, a junior from Galva, earned honorable mention.

? Among the nearly 1,450 students who completed degree requirements from Kansas State University this fall were six from this area.

Lehigh: Landon Herbel, B.S. in agriculture.

Marion: Nathan Bishop, B.S. in agriculture; Michael Kirkpatrick, B.A.; Drew Maddox, master of accountancy.

Canton: John Shearer, B.S. degree in agriculture.

Galva: Kristine Larson, B.S. degree in mechanical engineering.

? Four area students made the Dean?s List at Hesston College for the fall semester by achieving a 3.75 GPA while completing at least 12 hours of course work. They were Erin Brubaker, Goes?sel; Monica Plank, Marion; Calvin Plank, Marion; and Kathryn Bolstad, Hillsboro.

? Goshen College recently recognized 196 undergraduate on the fall Dean?s List. Among them was senior Sarah Hofkamp, a 2013 Peabody-Burns graduate studying Peace Justice & Conflict Studies.

? Three students from Marion County were among the 500 candidates for graduation at Emporia State Uni?versity Dec. 12. They are Kaylyn R. Spencer of Flo?rence, master of accountancy; Micaela Dawn Hiner???man of Hillsboro, B.S. in business administration; and Matthew A. Sprowls of Marion, B.S. in business management.

Tags from the story
More from Hillsboro Free Press
Countryside Feed contributes $2,600 for HES kids
Byron Noeth, of Countryside Feed, LLC, presents a check for $2,600 to...
Read More