? Sarah Unruh, who completed her freshman year at Hesston Colllege, is one of four HC students to receive the one-year, $2,500 Bill Mason Business Scholarship for the 2011-12 academic year.

Recipients were selected by the business department for their exemplary work and dedication to excellence in business practices.

Unruh, a 2010 graduate of Hillsboro High School, is the daughter of Mark and Barb Unruh of Durham.

? Several area students made the spring honor roll at McPher?son College. To do so, students needed to be a full-time student and earn a grade-point average of 3.55 or higher.

The students were Evan Hie?bert, freshman, Goessel; Kory Hiebert, junior, Goessel; Cody Winblad, sophomore, Goessel; Karis Janzen, freshman, Hills?boro; Megan Gutsch, senior, Lincolnville; Mitchell Leppke, sophomore, Marion.

? Two 2011 high school graduates from Marion County have been awarded academic scholarships by Washburn University in Topeka. They are Hayley Pankratz, Hillsboro High School, and Tristen Snelling, Marion High School.

? Three area students were among the 139 graduates during the May 8 commencement at Hesston College. They were: Frank Breugem, Hillsboro, associate of applied arts and sciences degree in nursing; Amy Brubaker, Goessel, associate of arts degree; Megan Wedel, Goessel, associate of applied arts and sciences degree in nursing.

? Neal Brubaker, a 2011 graduate of Goessel High School, received the President?s Scholarship of $20,000 from Hesston College for the 2011-12 year.

The scholarship is awarded on the basis of high school grade-point average and ACT or SAT score.

? Kayla Partridge, a 2011 graduate of Peabody-Burns High School, has accepted a cheerleading scholarship at Allen County Community College in Iola.

The scholarship covers books and tuition.

She is the daughter of Warren and Mollie Partridge.

? Ashlyn Simmons, a 2011 Hillsboro High School graduate, has been awarded a $500 scholarship from Alpha Omega Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma.

The award is presented to a female high school senior or college student attending a post-secondary institution majoring in education.

Simmons, daughter of Amy Simmons and Todd Simmons, is planning attend Emporia State University and major in elementary education.

? Three students from Marion County were recognized for Dean?s Scholastic Honors at Pittsburg State University this spring.

The students were Erin Rich?mond, a senior from Marion majoring in biology, John Barr III, a senior from Marion majoring in construction management, and Traylee Woodruff, a sophomore from Peabody majoring in nursing.

To qualify, a student must complete at least six semester hours, receive a grade-point average of 3.60 for all credit course work and have no grade lower than a B and no ?incompletes.?

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Goessel school board welcomes principal
Scott Boden was welcomed as the new Goessel junior/senior high school principal...
Read More