College honors

? More than 4,000 graduates participated in Kansas Univer??sity?s 143rd commencement May 17. The following area students received degrees.

Canton: Nicholas Wedel, doctor of physical therapy.

Florence: Jeconiah Spangler, bachelor?s degree in pharmaceutical studies;

Hillsboro: Aislinn Hieb?ner, doctorate in social work; Diedre Serene, Hills?boro, master?s degree in nursing; April Young, Hills?boro, bachelor?s degree in biology; Taylor Ensminger, Peabody, bachelor?s degree in French horn.

? Nearly 3,000 students completed degree requirements at Kansas State Uni?ver?sity this spring. Among those were 24 students from this area.

Canton: Hannah Fran?zen, bachelor of science in business administration.

Florence: Adam Cope, bachelor of science in agriculture.

Galva: Amy Ruddle, associate of technology and bachelor of science in engineering technology; and Kimberlin Voth, bachelor of science in family studies and human services.

Hillsboro: Ethan Frantz, bachelor of science in agriculture.

Marion: Raelene Allen, bachelor of science in business administration; Stacey Bowman, master of science; Anna Laurin, bachelor of science; Derek Stuchlik, bachelor of science in electrical engineering.

Peabody: Emily Harris, bachelor of arts; Derrick Till, bachelor of science; Shelby Unruh, bachelor of music education.

Tampa: Darren Mueller, bachelor of science in agriculture; Taylor Myers, bachelor of science; John Shearer, bachelor of science in agriculture.

? Twenty-four students from the Free Press distribution area were among the more than 3,500 Kansas State University students to earn semester honors for their academic performance during the spring semester.

From Canton: Hannah Franzen, Austin Bullinger and Logan Orpin.

From Florence: Alicia Maloney.

From Galva: Kristine Larson, Amy Ruddle, Kim?ber?lin Voth.

From Hillsboro: Bailey Kaufman, Aaron Klassen.

From Lincolnville: Carrie Carlson, Taylor Harms.

From Marion: Megan Davies, Kathryn Ehrlich, Erika Just, Lauren McLin?den, Zachary Robson, Derek Stuchlik.

From Peabody: Emily Harris, Broderick Kyle, Wesley Shaw, Derrick Till

From Tampa: Morganne Hamm, Nicholas Meyer, Grant Srajer.

? Adam Matz of Lincoln?ville, a senior at Kansas Wesleyan University and a member of the Coyote baseball team, was named a Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athlete.

? Among the 500 students making the dean?s list at Emporia State University this spring are four students from Marion County.

They are Jamie Henry, information systems major from Burns, school of business; Micaela Hinerman, business administration major from Hillsboro, school of business; Amy Carlson, elementary education major from Hillsboro, teachers college; and Courtney Weber, elementary education major from Hillsboro, teachers college.

? Four area students were named to the honor roll at McPherson College for both the fall and spring semesters: Shannon L. Popp, Galva; Ethan C. Winter, Galva; Johanna C. Hoffman, Hills?boro; and Maci M. Schle??huber, Hills?boro.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Area high schools represented at state events
As usual, the year about to be completed had its share of...
Read More