Area schools represented as Governor?s Scholars

One student from each of the six high schools in the Free Press distribution area were among the 550 students selected for the 28th annual Governor?s Scholars Award Program May 1 at Washburn University, Topeka.

The program recognizes the top 1 percent of graduating high school seniors.

Based on enrollment, each of the six local high schools were invited to nominate one honoree. Selected to participate were Tad Wedel from Canton-Galva, Jacob Jirak from Centre, Hannah Franzen from Goessel, Emma Heyen from Hillsboro, Derek Stuchlik from Marion and Jenipher Huls from Peabody-Burns.

Gov. Sam Brownback and Diane DeBacker, Kansas commissioner of education, were among the speakers.

?These high school seniors have shown dedication in their studies and a commitment to learning,? Brownback said. ?We should also recognize their families, teachers and mentors for helping these outstanding students achieve their academic goals.?

Each year, the award recipients are asked to complete a brief survey. Following is a profile of the 2011 Governor?s Scholars.

? Nearly 100 percent (99.8) plan to continue a formal education, with about 60 percent planning to attend a Kansas college. Twenty percent plan to attend school out-of-state, with another 20 percent still undecided.

? About 2 percent plan to enter the military or workforce immediately upon graduation.

? More than 99 percent (99.3) participate in co-curricular activities?4 percent only in athletics, 22 percent only in non-athletic and 74 percent in both.

Funded by donations from private-sector businesses in Kansas, the program is sponsored by the Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force, which includes representatives from eight education-based state agencies and organizations.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Website launched to help job seekers and employers connect
Job seekers and employers in Kansas have access to a new online...
Read More