25 area seniors invited to KU scholars dinner Sept. 19

Twenty-five students from the six high schools in the Free Press distribution area will be honored Wednesday, Sept. 19, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

Seniors from high schools in Marion, McPherson and Rice counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner program in McPherson.

The Kansas Honors Program began in 1971 and has recognized more than 100,000 students. Scholars rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of curricula, majors, occupational plans or higher-education goals.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an Ameri?can Heritage Dictionary in hardback and CD versions.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Jim Christensen and Martin Tice, both of Marion, are the volunteer coordinators for Marion County.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible through KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

The following students have been invited to participate.

Canton-Galva: Sabrina Hamil?ton, Mariana Redden, Andrew Westbrook.

Centre: Kristine Jirak, Julie Rziha, Nikki Stenzel.

Goessel: Katie Flaming, Cameron Voth.

Hillsboro: Mathew Brown, Benjamin Heyen, Meghan Jost, Lauren Just, Jessica Klose, Amber Loewen, Jandi Nikkel, Grant Schneider, Anna Woelk.

Marion: Brett Billings, Henry Collett, Lauren Helmer, Jessica Vogel, Kristin Waner.

Peabody Burns: Jessica Gillet, Tabitha O?Neal, Duane Unruh.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
GHS to perform Clue
by Alece Lehrman Goessel High School is presenting the play Clue. Clue...
Read More