Twelve named to county?s jail committee

The Marion County Board of Commissioners, in consultation with Sheriff Rob Craft and County Clerk Carol Maggard, has named a jail committee that will meet for the first time at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 23, in the basement of St. Luke?s Clinic in Marion.

Craft said that the committee, which has been formed to give the commission recommendations about what to do about the jail situation, will be organizing itself.

Possible recommendations range from building new county jail and communication facilities to remodeling existing facilities to keep up with state requirements and prisoner load, the commissioners have said. They wanted the group to have representation from across the county, and not to come with a predetermined mindset.

The 12 volunteer members are Gene Pearson from Burns; Randy Hagen, Dan Kinning and Mike Kleiber from Hillsboro; Dan Peugh from Peabody; Don Kraus, Burton Tidwell, Karen Wheeler and Ed Wheeler from Marion; Bryan Har?per and Greg Winn from Florence; and Barbara Britton from Goessel.

The alternates are Danny Flynn and JoAnn Knak from Hillsboro; and Harry Bennett from Marion.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Hospital sale tops mayor’s list of 2008 advances
With Mayor Delores Dalke ready to wield the oversized scissors, Butler Community...
Read More