‘Click it or ticket’ crackdown continues through June 3

Roadway travelers can expect an increased law enforcement presence May 21-June 3 as 160 law enforcement agencies will actively enforce Kansas occupant restraint and traffic laws.

This activity is sponsored by a grant from the Kansas Department of Transportation.

Drivers can anticipate strict enforcement of both the Kansas Safety Belt Use Act and the Kansas child Passenger Safety Act. These statutes require that all vehicle occupants be appropriately restrained.

Law enforcement officers can stop vehicles and issue tickets when they observe front-seat occupants, teens in any seat position or children under the age of 14 riding without being properly restrained.

The fine for an adult seat belt violation was tripled to $30 by 2017 Kansas Legislature. The fine for a violation by youth, ages 14-17, is $60. The fine for a restraint violation for a child, ages 0 to 13, is $60 plus a court cost charge of $108.

Children under the age of 4 must be correctly secured in an approved child safety seat. Children, ages 4-7, must be securely belted into an approved booster seat unless taller than 4 feet 9 inches or heavier than 80 pounds, in which case the booster may be removed and the child belted in without it.

Children ages 8-13 must be safety-belted. In addition, the law prohibits persons under the age of 14 from riding in a part of a vehicle not intended for carrying passengers such as a pickup bed.

While seat belts may not always protect from serious or fatal injury, no other piece of equipment within the vehicle provides more protection.

For answers to child safety restraint questions and the location of the nearest safety seat fitting station or safety seat technician, contact the Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office at 800-416-2522 or write ktsro@dccca.org.