GOP voters have multiple choices

Republican voters in Marion County won?t be surprised that, in a staunchly Republican state and county, they will find numerous contested races when they go to the polls for next Tuesday?s primary election.
Both national offices on this year?s GOP ballot are contested, as are five of the nine state offices.
The most unique situation is at the county level, where no one has filed for the 1st District seat on the Marion County Board of Commis?sioners. Sitting com?mis?sioner Roger Flem?ing announced his decision not to seek re-election on the June 2 filing deadline.
Since then, two residents have announced they are seeking write-in votes to be the Republican nominee on the general election ballot in November. The two are Lori Lalouette Crawford, an attorney from Hillsboro, and Donald Ewert, a farmer from the Durham area.
National offices

Republican incumbents for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives are facing challengers this summer.
Pat Roberts, the state?s 47-year senior senator from Dodge City, is facing three challengers:
n Della Jean ?D.J.? Smith, a former city council member from Osawatomie.
n Milton Wolf, a physician specializing in diagnostic radiology from Leawood.
n Alvin E. Zahnter, from Russell, is an Army veteran and is disabled. Zahnter described himself in an interview in the Topeka Capital-Journal as a ?gun fanatic? and advocates for legalizing marijuana.
The two Republicans running for the 1st District seat in the U.S. House are incumbent Tim Huelskamp from Fowler, and Alan LaPolice, a former actor and school teacher and administrator in California, now farming with his father near Clyde.

State administration

In the state races for administrative positions, incumbent Gov. Sam Brown?back is facing an intra-party challenge from Jennifer Winn of Wichita, co-owner of a family landscaping business.
Listed with the candidates for governor are their running mates for lieutenant governor: Jeff Colyer of Overland Park, running with Brown?back; Robin R. Lais of Wichita, running with Winn.

Incumbent Kris Kobach is facing competition from Scott Morgan for the office of secretary of state. Morgan, from Lawrence, has worked for the Federal Elections Commission as well as former U.S. senators Bob Dole and Nancy Kasse?baum.
Five candidates are running for their party?s nomination for commissioner of insurance to fill the void created by three-term incumbent Sandy Praeger?s decision not to seek re-election:
n Beverly Gossage, from Eudora, owner of a health savings account benefits consulting business and president and legislative chair of the Greater Kansas City Association of Health Under?writers.

n David J. Powell, El Dorado insurance agent with 33 years of experience.
n Ken Selzer, Goessel native now from Leawood; he is a certified public accountant with 30 years of experience in the insurance industry.
n Clark Shultz, a licensed title insurance agent from Linds?borg; he served 17 years in the Kansas House before he was elected to fill the unexpired state senate term of Jay Emler earlier this year.

n John M. Toplikar, a Johnson County commissioner, former city council member and state representative from Olathe.

The two incumbents running unopposed for administrative state offices are Derek Schmidt, seeking a second term as attorney general, and Ron Estes, seeking a second term as state treasure.
State legislature

On the legislative side, five Republican candidates have filed for the 35th Dis?trict seat in the Kansas Senate.

Schultz was elected to the position in January after the governor appointed Jay Emler to the Kansas Cor?por?a?tion Com?mission.
The 35th District includes all of Marion, Chase, Morris, McPherson and Ellsworth counties, plus part of Dick?in?son and Rice counties.
The five candidates hoping to fill the unexpired term are:
n Marshall Christmann, a current three-term state representative, municipal judge and negotiator from Lyons.
n Donald Hobson of McPherson, a support-staff employee for the local school district.
n Nick Reinecker, restaurant co-manager from Inman.
n James E. Toews, current mayor and retired municipal worker for Inman.
n Richard Wilborn, business consultant and former insurance executive from McPherson.
In the Kansas House, John E. Barker, a retired judge from Abilene, is seeking re-election as the representative from the 70th District, which includes northern Marion County, including the city of Marion, plus all of Dickinson County and a small part of Clay County.
Barker?s opponent is Brian Huwiler of Chapman.
Don Schroeder of Hess?ton, the incumbent representative for the 74th District, is running unopposed.
The 74th District includes southern Marion County, including Hillsboro, plus parts of McPherson and Harvey counties.
Also running unopposed in the primary is Kenneth R. Willard of Hutchinson, the incumbent representative for District 7 on the Kansas Board of Education.
County offices

Beyond the Marion County Board of Commis?sioners opening, several people have filed for positions for township and precinct offices.
Of the 24 townships in the county, nine have someone who filed for clerk: Gor?don Groening, Centre; Gary Unruh, Durham Park;
Lowell S. Heinrichs, East Branch; Donald R. Hett, Fairplay; Gail Whiteman, Gale; Tim Makovec, Grant; DeLayne R. Herbel, Lehigh; Dwight M. Flaming, Menno; Wilfred H. Unruh, West Branch.
Of the 31 voting precincts in the county, four have someone who filed for committeeman: Greg Davidson, Centre; Jerry Makovec, Grant; Todd Heitschmidt, Marion North Ward; and Bob Brookens, Marion South Ward.
Six precincts have someone who filed for committeewoman: Rose David?son, Centre; Faye A. Makovec, Grant; CleoBeth Friesen, Liberty; Cherry Miller, Hillsboro East Ward; Anita ?. Brookens, Marion South Ward; and Marquetta Eilerts, Peabody West Ward

Written By
More from Don Ratzlaff
Dream fulfilled
Congratulations to Tabor College and its supporters upon the near completion of...
Read More