Election draws voters across county


Marion County voters were out in full force for last Tuesday?s general election with 60 percent of residents casting ballots in either Hillsboro, Marion, Peabody, Goessel, Burns, Tampa, Florence or Lincolnville.

Of the 7,658 registered voters, 4,512 ballots were counted.

?It was a very good turnout for a gubernatorial year,? said Carol Maggard, county clerk.

Election officer Rhonda Toal agreed, adding that the only higher percentage in recent years was in 2008 with 76 percent of voters going to the polls in the presidential election.

The high number of voters also left little doubt as to who and what political party they wanted in the various offices.

One of the most watched races in Marion County was for state senator in the 17th District with Republican Jeff Long?bine, appointed in October to the seat held formerly by Jim Barnett, being challenged by Democrat Jerry Karr of Emporia.

Longbine received 70 percent of the vote in Marion County to easily defeat Karr. Ballots cast for Longbine were 2,468 to Karr?s 1,073.

The total across the 17th District had Longbine with 9,929 votes and Karr with 7,385. Karr carried Lyon County with 4,632 votes to Longbine?s 3,882. The district covers parts of Green?wood, Coffey, Chase, Marion, Morris and Osage counties.

In the race for U.S. Senator, Republican Rep. Jerry Moran of Hays easily defeated his opponents in Marion County with 3,832 votes. Democratic challenger Lisa Johnston, a college administrator, received 565 votes with Joseph K. Bellis, independent candidate, capturing 37 votes and Libertarian Michael Dann receiving 54 votes.


The U.S. First District race was another resounding success for Marion County Republicans. Voters cast 3,113 votes for Tim Huelskamp of Dodge City, Democrat Alan Jilka received 971 votes and Libertarian Jack Warner received 105 votes.

In the race for governor and lieutenant governor, Republican U.S. Sen. Sam Brownback was favored by 76 percent of Marion County voters, receiving 3,418 votes.

Democratic challenger Tom Holland had 921 votes; Libertar?ian Andrew Gray 88 and Reform candidate Kenneth Cannon, 67.

Marion County Republicans enjoyed another landslide by choosing candidate Kris Kobach of Piper, a law professor, as their choice for secretary of state.

Kobach received 3,066 votes followed by Democrat Chris Biggs with 1,155 votes, Libertar?ian Phillip Lucas with 91 votes and Reform Party candidate Derek Langseth with 82 votes.

In the attorney general?s race, Republican State Sen. Derek Schmidt of Independence received 2,971 votes. Incumbent Democrat Steve Six had 1,324 and Libertarian Dennis Hawver had 119.

Marion County voters gave Republican Ron Estes of Wichita the nod for state treasurer with 3,000 votes. Incumbent Democrat Dennis McKinney received 1,398 votes.

Neither Kansas State Rep. Bob Brookens of Marion, nor Roger Fleming, Marion County Commission candidate, had challengers. Both received a large amount of votes in the election.

Brookens had 4,021 votes with 91 write-ins. Fleming had 1,447 votes with 27 write-ins.

Election results in Marion County were made official after Friday morning when commissioners canvassed the ballots.

According to election officials, 51 provisional ballots were reviewed.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
HHS track combines state qualifiers with young talent
Hillsboro will build its track fortunes this season on a foundation of...
Read More