Candidates declare for April ballots


With the filing deadline past, candidates for the April 5 local elections have now declared themselves.

Among the several contested races in the county his spring is the one for Hillsboro mayor, where incumbent Delores Dalke faces Teresa Wright.

Following is the list of candidates who filed for either a city or school board position. An asterisk (*) indicates an incumbent. In some cases, council membership determined by number of available seats, not by ward; the number of open seats is in parentheses.



Mayor: *Fritzie Hatfield

Council members (2): No filings


Mayor: *Mary L. Shipman

Council: Ward 1: John Swarm; Ward 2:*Trayce Warner, Holly Pereillo


Council members (3): *James Wiens, Rollin Schmidt, Robert McCourry, Joel Ratzloff, *Dallas Boese, Jerry Stika


Mayor: *Delores Dalke, Teresa Wright

Council: Ward 1, *Robert Watson; Ward 2, Marlene Fast


Mayor: *Brendan Bailey.

Council (5): *Jeanette Goza, *Arthur Stroda, *Kathy Matkins, *Byron Noeth, James Thomp?son, Roy Marvin Rains, Nathan Bailey, Alan Svoboda.


Mayor: *Tim Svoboda

Council (2): *Ty Peterson, *Russell Kerbs


No filings for mayor or for five council positions.


Council (3): *Joesph Vinduska

Lost Springs

Mayor: Joyce Buckland Rohloff, Tish Keesling

Council (5): *Joseph Zinn


Mayor: *Larry Larson, Frank Doerrler

Council (3): *Stephen Rose, *David Scott, *Pamela Lamborn, James Philpott, Lewis Litton


school boards

USD 397 – Centre

Pos. 1: *Jesse Brunner; Amber Peterson

Pos. 2: *Mark Heiser

Pos. 3: *Terry Deines

At-large, Pos. 7: *Steven Jirak


USD 398 – Peabody-Burns

Pos. 1: *Bruce Burke,

Pos. 2: *Terril Eberhard

Pos. 3: Glendon Parks

Pos. 7: *Anthony Zappone


USD 408 – Marion-Florence

Pos. 1: Christopher Sprowls

Pos. 2: Jeremiah Lange

Pos. 3: Ronald Kirkpatrick Jr.

At-large, Pos. 7: *Sarah Cope


USD 410 – Hillsboro

Pos. 1: *Debra Geis

Pos. 2: *Mark Rooker

Pos. 3: Chad Nowak, Stephanie Moss

At-large: *Roderick Koons

Unexpired term Pos. 4: Joe Sechrist


USD 411 – Goessel

Pos. 1: *Darla Meysing

Pos. 2: *Maynard Knepp

Pos. 3: *Daniel Miller

At-large: Eric Schrag

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Births (Jan. 27, 2009)
Abram Schmidt   Carl and Sheri Schmidt announce the birth of their...
Read More