Candidates are in for 2024 elections

Preliminary filings for the 2024 elections were due by noon on Monday, June 3. The primary election will be Tuesday, Aug. 6, and the general election will be Tuesday, Nov. 5.

County races

For Marion County offices, there are several positions on the ballot.

Incumbent David Mueller, unaffiliated, is running for county commissioner second district. Michael Beneke (R) and former Commissioner Dianne Novak (R) have filed to run.

Incumbent Randy Dallke (R) has filed for county commissioner third district. Clarke Dirks (R) and Randy Eitzen (D) have also filed to run.

Both of the commissioner district races will be narrowed down to one Republican in each race during the primary election. The remaining Republican and other candidate will run in the general election.

No one has filed to fill the office of county attorney. The office has been held by Joel Ensey.

Incumbent Ashley Herpich (R) has filed for county clerk. She took over as county clerk in February when former County Clerk Tina Spencer became Marion County Administrator.

Incumbent Tina Groening (R) filed for county treasurer. She took over the position in November when Susan Berg died.

Hannah Branson (R) and Shelby Schroeder (R) have filed for register of deeds to replace the retiring Rebecca Wingfield.

Incumbent Jeffrey T. Soyez (R) has filed for county sheriff. Travis L. Wilson (R) has also filed for county sheriff.

City races

For city offices, there are several positions on the ballot, and all but one are uncontested.

The Burns City Council has five candidates for three positions. They are Rehea I. Huts (R), David J. Pearson (R), Darn Hacker (R), Zeb Hatfield (D) and Bill Needham(R).

For Hillsboro Ward 1 City Council, Jeffrey J. Jorgenson (R) has filed.

For Hillsboro Ward 2 City Council, Byron C. McCarty, Jr. (R) has filed.

Carl Gehrke has filed for Ramona Mayor.

Mark G. Lockhart (R) and Paul Tucker (R) have filed for Ramona City Council.

There were many openings and no contests for the township offices.

The Republican Committeeman race for Marion City South will be contested for the primary election. J. Robert Brookens and Gene Winkler have both filed for the position.


“The filing deadline for unaffiliated voters to file for election is the day before the primary at noon,” said Election Clerk Michelle Looper.

Monday, July 15, is the deadline to file an affidavit of write-in candidacy for national, state, county and first class cities (Marion County does not have any first class cities).

Tuesday, July 16, is the last day to register to vote. Registration books close at 5 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 6, is the primary election.

On Wednesday, Aug. 7, voter registration books reopen.

All of the candidates and filings can be found online at

More from Laura Fowler Paulus
Group asks for setbacks for turbines
Wind turbines appear to be the hot topic in Marion County as...
Read More