Andres reelected to FSA committee

Ballot tabulation has been completed in the 2009 FSA County Committee election, resulting in Peabody area farmer and rancher Eldon Andres being re-elected to serve a new three-year term, beginning this month.

Andres received 121 of the 136 votes cast in the local administrative area election that represents producers residing in the Marion-Peabody-Florence-Burns area.

Andres joins other producer-members Monty Stuchlik and Marvin Ratzlaff on the 2010 Marion County FSA Committee. Producers who desire to meet with the committee during 2010 should schedule their appointments through the county FSA office in Marion by calling 620-382-3714.

Farmer-elected county FSA committees serve as a vital link in the effective administration of USDA programs. Committees are responsible for carrying out federal farm programs in accordance with national guidelines and directives.

Important duties include:

? Meeting periodically to make policy decisions, acting on cases involving individual farmers and overseeing county office operations to assure funding is used effectively.

? Helping to ensure farmer and public understanding of FSA programs through an effective information plan.

? Offering any necessary policy recommendations to the state FSA committee.

? Conducting hearings and investigations requested by the agency.

? Supervising the annual FSA county committee election.

We express our appreciation to voters who participated in the recent election process. The county committee system can only work effectively with strong producer involvement.


Bill Harmon is executive director of the Marion County FSA office.

More from Hillsboro Free Press
Vogel and Morris power 4×4 gold; Hillsboro boys place 3rd, girls 5th
Hillsboro?s Nathan Vogel takes the baton from Nicholas Mueller for the final...
Read More