300 people turn out for Hillsboro car show

Ron Herbel, Marion, drives to the winner?s circle in his 1958 Chevy Delray to accept a Top 10 honor. Handing him the plaque is Gavon Klein, nephew of Kim Abrahams, and Mike Berry of Canton is taking photos. Patty Decker / Free Press

The threat of rain didn?t stop 30 car enthusiasts from entering this year?s 17th annual Route 56 Classic Cruisers Show Saturday at Memorial Park in Hillsboro.

Weather didn?t dampen attendance either with more than 300 spectators on hand, said Pat Kinning, a Route 56 club member.

Each year, proceeds from the registration fees go to the Marion County Toy Run, which provides toys for families at Christmas, Kinning said.

Car show participants came from as close as Hillsboro, Marion and Canton to further locations including Newton, McPherson, Mound?ridge, Hesston, Sterling, Herington, Hope, Salina and Wichita.

One entrant was from Missouri.

For Lowell Unruh of Sterling, and his 1928 Ford Roadster, the trip to Hillsboro offered him a chance to show off his car?s national championship.

?I have toured seven states and participated in 11 shows (with this vehicle), winning a national championship,? he said.

Unruh said the Roadster?s engine is rare, too, because so many of them were destroyed in nitro cars

?Ford only made 300 of these engines,? he said. ?It is 700 horsepower.?

Mark Franklin of Salina is a repeat entrant with his 1928 Rat Rod. A rat rod, according to Mark?s father, Mick, is a car built out of other car parts.

?The frame is from tubing, the engine is from an old race car and the rear-end is from a 1993 Thunderbird,? Mick said.

Route 56 Classic Cruisers results

Top 10 cars: 1. Ron Herbel, Marion, 1958 Chevy Delray; 2. Buck Martin, McPherson, 1953 Ford Custom. 3. Mark McVicker, McPherson, 2004 Chrysler Crossfire; 4. Don Graves, Hutchinson, 1955 Chevrolet station wagon; 5. John Brown, Hutchinson, 1940 Chevrolet sedan delivery; 6. Bill Scholl of Abilene, 2005 Dodge 1500 Daytona; 7. Bub and Linda Lovelady of Marion, 1953 Chevy sedan delivery; 8. Galen Chizek of Lehigh, 2003 Chevy 50th anniversary Corvette; 9. Bob Barb, Warsaw, Mo., 1967 Pontiac GTO; 10. Larry Smith, Newton, 1997 Chevy Camaro Z28, 30th anniversary edition.

Ray Abrahams Memorial: Richard Dirks, Hillsboro, 1931 Ford Model A.

Dave Unruh Memorial/Under 21: Brian Haden, Hope, 1974 Chevy Nova.

Ladies Choice: Gary Cooper, McPherson, 1975 Buick convertible.

Class Winner: Randy C. Hamilton, Canton, 1978 Corvette Indy Pacer car.

Club Choice: Jim Martin, Hutch?inson, 1941 Willys Coupe.

Antique: Richard Sanchez, Wichita, 1930 Ford Model A.

Best Other Truck: Curtis Hartman, Herington, 1971 Dodge D 100.

Best GM Truck: Warren Unruh, Newton, 1987 Chevy S-10.

Best Ford Truck: Greg Wolff, Herington, 1955 Ford pickup.

Best Antique: Willis and Joan Derksen, Newton, 1926 Ford Roadster.

Best Rat Rod: Mark and Kim Franklin, Salina, 1928 Franklin.

Best High Performance: Lowell Unruh, Hesston, 1928 Ford Roadster.

Best Classic: Joe Smilely, Newton, 1957 Chevy Belair.

Best Other: Mick and Dody Franklin, Salina, 1947 Hudson Club coupe.

Best Mopar: Fred Gilmore, Sterling, 1970 Plymouth Cuda.

Best GM: Jim Dush, Hillsboro, 1973 Chevy Nova.

Best Ford: Calvin Dirksen, Mound?ridge, 1969 Ford Mustang.

Best of Show: Bill Snyder, McPherson, 1932 Ford Victoria.

Written By
More from Patty Decker
Leaders reveal surprising jobs
It’s been a lot of fun finding out about some of the...
Read More