Students awarded scholarships and honors at state FFA

Several area students were awarded honors and scholarships during the 85th Kansas FFA Convention May 29-31 in Manhattan.

State FFA Degrees

Thirteen area FFA members were among the 36 from the South Central District to be awarded their State FFA Degree May 31.

The State Degree is the highest honor the Kansas FFA Asso?ciation can bestow upon its members.

Three area schools were represented. Receiving the degree from the Centre chapter were Justin Deines, Kyle Methvin, Chad Mueller, Tom Oborny, Tanner Peterson, Karl Riffel and Ty Simmons;

Members from the Hillsboro chapter were Lauren Geis, Bryce Roberts and Nathan Unruh.

Recipients from the Marion-Florence chapter were Jacob Cope, Aaron Molleker and Montana Percell.

In order to achieve the award, members must:

? have received their Chapter FFA Degree;

? have been an FFA member and agricultural education student for at least two years;

? have earned at least $2,000 or worked 600 hours in their supervised agricultural experience program;

? have given a six-minute speech about agriculture or FFA;

? have participated in eight different leadership activities;

? have received a ?C? average or better in high school;

? have shown a record of outstanding leadership and community involvement.

WLC scholarships

Makenzie Dienes of Centre and Nicholas Meyer of the Marion-Florence chapter were among the 28 FFA members who received a scholarship to attend the Washington Leadership Conference this summer in Washington, D.C.

WLC challenges members to take their leadership skills to the next level by learning to know their purpose, value people, take action and serve others. The five-day event trains FFA members to make a positive impact in their school, local community, state and country.

Orscheln scholarships

Carrie Carlson of Centre and Nathan Unruh of Hillsboro were among eight students who received a $1,000 Orscheln Farm and Home Stores of Kansas scholarship.

The scholarships are awarded to graduating high school seniors who plan to attend a four-year program or a two-year program with the intention of transferring to a university or college majoring in agriculture in the state of Kansas.

Students who receive the scholarship are four-year members of the Kansas FFA Associa?tion and have a keen interest in the family farm and its importance to society.

Scholarship recipients demonstrate outstanding leadership, community service, exhibit good character and moral traits, and have excelled scholastically during high school.

Ford scholarship

Carlson and Unruh also were among the 83 students who received a $1,000 Ford Trucks/Built Ford Tough scholarship, which recognizes FFA members? talents and accomplishments while encouraging their future academic achievements.

?We?re proud to recognize these student leaders for their growth in the FFA and passion for the agriculture industry,? said Justin Haun, Kansas FFA Association reporter.

























More from Hillsboro Free Press
Free Press Classified Liners (Feb. 18, 2009)
1 Employment Farm Full time help wanted. Custom silage harvesting, earth moving...
Read More