Update at 11:30 p.m.

12 of 31 Precincts have been reported at this time according to the Marion County website.

Hillsboro resident Dana Maxfield has worked at all of the elections the last several years at the Hillsboro United Methodist Church polling site. She also noticed a higher turnout than previous elections.

Turnout was great! The first few hours were the busiest as usual, but it was steady the rest of the day, too. We had 1,032 voters show up today,” said Maxfield.

Polls closed at 7 p.m. with results flowing in afterward. More updates will be posted as they become available throughout the next few hours. All results are unofficial until they are canvassed by commissioners. They will be official on Wednesday, November 14. Election results are available courtesy of the Marion County Kansas Elections office:

National races
U.S. House of Representatives—District 1
Alan LaPolice (D) 611
Roger Marshall (R) 1,857

Kansas races
Governor/Lt. Governor
Laura Kelly (D) 848
Kris Kobach (R) 1,406
Rick Kloos (Ind) 16
Greg Orman (Ind) 199
Jeff Caldwell (Lib) 34

Secretary of State
Brian ‘Bam’ McClendon (D) 679
Scott Schwab (R) 1,727
Rob Hodgkinson (Lib) 74

Attorney General
Sarah G. Swain (D) 513
Derek Schmidt (R) 1,955

State Treasurer
Marci Francisco (D) 530
Jake LaTurner (R) 1,927

Commissioner of Insurance
Nathaniel McLaughlin (D) 424
Vicki Schmidt (R) 2,009

Kansas House District 70
Jo Schwartz (D) 291
John E. Barker (R) 602

Kansas House District 74
Stephen Owens (R) 1,385

State Board of Education
District 7
James Hannon (D) 626
Ben Jones (R) 1,785

County races
Commission District 1
Kent D. Becker (R) 1,213

Burns City Council (3 positions)

Kimberly Koop (U) 1

Hillsboro City Council – Ward 1

Brent Driggers (R) 405

Hillsboro City Council – Ward 2

Byron McCarty (R) 461

Judicial Retention

Court of Appeals                                  Yes                 No

Position 1 Stephen D. Hill                   1,720              461

Position 5 Kim R. Schroeder                1,757              432

Position 7 Henry W. Green, Jr.             1,674              480

Position 10 Anthony J. Powell                 689             474

Position 11 Tom Malone                         1,709             451

Position 12 Michael B. Buser                 1,419             730

Position 13 Melissa Taylor Standridge   1,468             687


8th Judicial District                                  Yes               No

Division 1 Ben J. Sexton                          680             439

Division 4 Stephen L. Hornbaker           1,615            484


Special Question

Change to 5-member Commission Dist?    Yes             No

                                                                     1,340         1,075


More from Laura Fowler Paulus
DEATH: Carol Elaine Wiebe
Carol Elaine Wiebe, 83, died May 7, 2019, at Parkside Homes in...
Read More